CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it again! He has just released the 2nd edition of "Max Power".
Rather than get into details here, I urge you to check out this announcement post.
It's a massive upgrade, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Nortel Alteon 5409

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2007-01-30
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Nortel Alteon 5409

    Hi all ,

    Here at my site we are having ASF 5409 with Checkpoint AI R55. We were using a standalone checkpoint server as a firewall before and last day we tried to migrated to ASF platform. The issue we are facing is with NATing.

    He the site is having multipile locations connected through WAN. some locations are having servers which are nated and hosted to public from the main site.

    Here at the main site we are using 172.16.8.0/21 network. There are servers hosted from this network also. that servers are getting Nated connected and is accessable from public.

    When it comes to another server hosted from 172.16.200.0/21 it is not geting NATed in the ASF. we aer not getting any errors though. but the server is visible to public.

    previoulsy with the Checkpoint standalone server this setup was working fine.

    Here in ASF we have configured the first port (LAN Segment) with 172.16.9.1 as the VRRIP with a subnet mask of 255.255.248.0.

    For a temporary solution we changed the subnet mask of the first port to 255.255.0.0 and it started working. but customer is not satisfied with this solution,. he want it to happen from the /21 mask. can anyone help me ..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2007-01-30
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Nortel Alteon 5409

    and one more issue is there,.. we are not able to see any logs of the traffic through the ASF in the Smart Tracker. the only logs we are seeing in that is the traffic from Management server to ASF box.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2007-01-30
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Nortel Alteon 5409

    Hi all ..

    The problem is solved. Wht i did was taking the backup of the configuration of the Checkpoint and reinstalled the server and put it back. After putting the configuration i re-established the SIC and Logs start comming into the smart Center.

    For the subnet issue, i have made a network grouo will all the WAN range (;ie 172.16.0.0 / 16 ). then this group has been said as the network behind the Internal interface and voila .. it started working ..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2007-05-08
    Posts
    12
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Nortel Alteon 5409

    Hello

    Good that you showed interest in posting the solution too.

    Regards
    Britto Sidhan

Similar Threads

  1. UTM-1 570 + Log Server + Alteon 5106
    By armando.ferreira in forum Portuguese
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-01-31, 07:10
  2. Nortel Alteon 5109
    By netspezi in forum Nortel ASF/NSF
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-11-04, 10:26
  3. When activate MS RPC I can't use the acceleration in Alteon ASF Nortel
    By javiergracian in forum IPS Blade (Formerly SmartDefense)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-08-20, 17:24
  4. Nortel Alteon Firewalls
    By ruchir in forum Nortel ASF/NSF
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2006-05-24, 02:56
  5. RSA ACE Server and Alteon Enforcement Box
    By Cornelius in forum Miscellaneous
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-01-05, 12:44

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •