CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it again! He has just released the 2nd edition of "Max Power".
Rather than get into details here, I urge you to check out this announcement post.
It's a massive upgrade, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: High cpu - monitord process

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2006-11-21
    Posts
    49
    Rep Power
    0

    Default High cpu - monitord process

    Hello,

    We have Checkpoint cluster appliance 5100.
    We are version R80.10 - Build 083.
    When running top command.
    We get monitord process take 100% CPU.

    In the /var/log/messages , we have the following error:
    monitord[16271]: Time shift detected !!!

    Any idea to solve this issue?

    Thank you in adavance,
    Eldo

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2009-04-30
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    2,251
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Re: High cpu - monitord process

    Quote Originally Posted by eldo37 View Post
    Hello,

    We have Checkpoint cluster appliance 5100.
    We are version R80.10 - Build 083.
    When running top command.
    We get monitord process take 100% CPU.

    In the /var/log/messages , we have the following error:
    monitord[16271]: Time shift detected !!!

    Any idea to solve this issue?

    Thank you in adavance,
    Eldo
    This is a known issue fixed in R80.10, see sk102988 for the explanation. If you upgraded the system you may still have the old database with the issue, so you need to reinitialize the /var/log/db database utilized by monitord, see sk93587 for instructions to do that.
    --
    Second Edition of my "Max Power" Firewall Book
    Now Available at http://www.maxpowerfirewalls.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2006-11-21
    Posts
    49
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: High cpu - monitord process

    Hello,

    Thank you for your response.

    But the sk93587 only solved this issue temporary.
    After a week the cpu is high again.

    I have deleted the /var/log/db.
    After a week the database is getting bigger again and the cpu reach 100%.
    The monitord process is taking 100% cpu.

    Any other idea,
    Eldo

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2007-06-04
    Posts
    3,313
    Rep Power
    17

    Default Re: High cpu - monitord process

    Quote Originally Posted by eldo37 View Post
    Hello,

    Thank you for your response.

    But the sk93587 only solved this issue temporary.
    After a week the cpu is high again.

    I have deleted the /var/log/db.
    After a week the database is getting bigger again and the cpu reach 100%.
    The monitord process is taking 100% cpu.

    Any other idea,
    Eldo
    It is supposed to be fixed in R80.10 so if deleting it isn't resolving then need to log a TAC Case.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2006-11-21
    Posts
    49
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: High cpu - monitord process

    Thank you for your help.

Similar Threads

  1. sk93587- monitord high CPU - ranting
    By cciesec2006 in forum Miscellaneous
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2018-04-01, 08:32
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2018-03-13, 19:44
  3. sk93587- monitord high CPU
    By cciesec2006 in forum Miscellaneous
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 2017-01-24, 06:49
  4. High CPU - FWM and CPD process (R71.30)
    By DntBrnDPig in forum Check Point UTM-1 Appliances
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-10-18, 04:03
  5. Several UTM's running high CPD process...
    By boldin in forum Check Point UTM-1 Appliances
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-02-07, 16:21

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •