CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it again! He has just released the 2nd edition of "Max Power".
Rather than get into details here, I urge you to check out this announcement post.
It's a massive upgrade, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: SmartDashboard on macOS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2014-10-01
    Posts
    23
    Rep Power
    0

    Default SmartDashboard on macOS

    Hello all,

    How many of you use macOS as their primary OS? I know that Check Point don't care and most probably they will never release SmartDashboard for this OS.
    So if I want to manage CP firewalls I have to start Windows VM every time? It's a bit silly because I have to have license for this Windows which will cost me additional tax.
    I know many of the Linux users use WINE but I don't like this solution because it's very clumsy. Every time when I used WINE it crashed by some reason.

    Have someone of you solved this issue somehow? How do you manage your firewalls from OS's different than Windows?

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2006-07-28
    Location
    San Francisco, USA
    Posts
    2,480
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Re: SmartDashboard on macOS

    > It's a bit silly because I have to have license for this Windows which will cost me additional tax.

    And what's the cost of that vs the amount your company has already paid to Check Point?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2016-06-10
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: SmartDashboard on macOS

    Last edited by tomersole'; 1 Week Ago at 15:28.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2014-10-01
    Posts
    23
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: SmartDashboard on macOS

    Quote Originally Posted by northlandboy View Post
    > It's a bit silly because I have to have license for this Windows which will cost me additional tax.

    And what's the cost of that vs the amount your company has already paid to Check Point?
    I never mentioned it will be paid by the company. But even if this is the case why additional amount of money should be spend?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2006-07-28
    Location
    San Francisco, USA
    Posts
    2,480
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Re: SmartDashboard on macOS

    Why would it *not* be paid by the company? Why would you buy your own Windows license to manage a company asset? That makes no sense.

    > But even if this is the case why additional amount of money should be spend?

    Software development companies have to make a choice about which platforms they will support. There is a cost associated to expanding that support. They make a decision one way, you are free to disagree with their decision, and choose to purchase other products. This is life.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2014-10-01
    Posts
    23
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: SmartDashboard on macOS

    Quote Originally Posted by northlandboy View Post
    Why would it *not* be paid by the company? Why would you buy your own Windows license to manage a company asset? That makes no sense.

    > But even if this is the case why additional amount of money should be spend?

    Software development companies have to make a choice about which platforms they will support. There is a cost associated to expanding that support. They make a decision one way, you are free to disagree with their decision, and choose to purchase other products. This is life.
    I didn't start that topic to argue with someone what is right and what is wrong. I just wanted to know how the other CP users deal with OS's different from Windows.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    2005-08-14
    Location
    Gig Harbor, WA, USA
    Posts
    2,465
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: SmartDashboard on macOS

    To provide a bit of background on the situation:

    When Check Point designed R80, the goal was to have an outstanding UI experience for the administrator as well as flexible UI components, allowing for all monitoring and key functionality to be used on the web or mobile.

    For heavy administrator usage, which accounts for the vast majority of use, a native Windows UI versus a web client was evaluated.
    The native client was far superior for this use case, which is why it was chosen.

    In parallel, strong API and CLI were developed as an alternate form of management.
    Also, all logging and monitoring functions are native web interfaces.
    You can see that with SmartView, which will be improved in R80.20 (available in Public EA now).

    In the future, more web components will be added as well as mobile usage for specific scenarios.
    http://phoneboy.org
    Unless otherwise noted, views expressed are my own

  8. #8
    Join Date
    2014-10-01
    Posts
    23
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: SmartDashboard on macOS

    Thank you for your replies PhoneBoy and tomersole.

Similar Threads

  1. SecureClient MacOS Global Params
    By dave_c_uk in forum SecureClient/SecuRemote
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-03-09, 03:07
  2. SmartDashboard Bug
    By melipla in forum SmartDashboard
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-04-25, 15:38
  3. SecureClient for MacOS
    By chillyjim in forum SecureClient/SecuRemote
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-05-11, 10:59
  4. smartdashboard help
    By derspot in forum Feedback To Check Point: Suggestions And Requests
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-01-11, 13:50
  5. Can I use Smartdashboard on an old CP?
    By Huisje in forum SmartDashboard
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-08-08, 12:24

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •