CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


First, I hope you're all well and staying safe.
Second, I want to give a "heads up" that you should see more activity here shortly, and maybe a few cosmetic changes.
I'll post more details to the "Announcements" forum soon, so be on the lookout. -E

 

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 41 to 47 of 47

Thread: SmartDashboard on macOS

  1. #41
    Join Date
    2007-03-30
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    397
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: SmartDashboard on macOS

    Quote Originally Posted by PhoneBoy View Post
    Nice to see you're still working on this :)
    Databases are one of those things I really don’t understand all that well. Key-value observing is another. This, unfortunately, combines both, so it has taken me a long time to learn what I need to ask the right questions.

    I have a couple of ideas which might let me simplify my view controller code. We’ll see if any of them work out!

  2. #42
    Join Date
    2014-09-02
    Posts
    377
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: SmartDashboard on macOS

    Quote Originally Posted by PhoneBoy View Post
    Nice to see you're still working on this :)
    Agreed. It's definitely very cool.

    Please don't take this as throwing shade, but my [admittedly cynical and half-joking] prediction is that he'll complete it the day before whatever R8x drops with full browser-based SmartConsole.

    On that note, who's seen what's already there in R81.10? (hint: try https://[management]/smartconsole)

    -E

  3. #43
    Join Date
    2007-03-30
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    397
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: SmartDashboard on macOS

    Quote Originally Posted by EricAnderson View Post
    Agreed. It's definitely very cool.

    Please don't take this as throwing shade, but my [admittedly cynical and half-joking] prediction is that he'll complete it the day before whatever R8x drops with full browser-based SmartConsole.
    Even if it comes after browser-based management, I won't be too disappointed. I'm one person doing this in my spare time, after all. ;) I will always prefer the performance achievable with a thick client, and I have a few super-secret ideas I'm building towards.

    Still having trouble with key-value observing to update the UI as the backend data is updated. Fixing this may require much more manual definition of my Core Data entities so as things are added to a layer's rulebase, the layer automatically starts observing them for changes. We will see.

    I'm familiar with reactive programming in general from some time writing systems code and lambda calculus, just having trouble understanding how to express my intent in Apple's frameworks. Conceptually, what I'm trying to do is a lot like writing an interrupt handler (which is ultimately how lambdas are implemented). I need to figure out how to fire interrupts when a rule's position is updated, and how to tell the system the rule section is interested in those interrupts. Then how to fire interrupts when the rule section's rules are updated (or the section itself), and how to tell the system the layer is interested in them.

  4. #44
    Join Date
    2007-03-30
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    397
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: SmartDashboard on macOS

    Duplicate post.

  5. #45
    Join Date
    2007-03-30
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    397
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: SmartDashboard on macOS

    I think I've finally cracked it. Removed some debugging code I had added, and now drag-and-drop is working from inside a section to outside a section, from outside a section to inside, between sections, and within a section. I was right, it was a problem with KVO. Turns out I that debugging code I had added to get insight into its internal state was preventing other code I wrote later from being called. This other code solved the problem. I feel dumb, but that means I'm learning! Plenty left to address in the near future:

    • Fixed: The rule number is updated correctly in the internal database, but not in the UI. I know for a fact that will be easier to address than drag-and-drop within a section.
    • ~1/3 done as of the 21st: I still need to extend what I'm doing to support rearranging NAT rules. Not easy, but not enormously difficult.
    • Then I need to add the ability to delete existing rules and add new rules. Extremely easy, as I've already written ~98% of the necessary code as part of moving rules.
    • Adding and removing sections would be after that. I wonder what the API does if you try to delete a section which has rules in it.
    • Still need to work on editing and creating objects which reference other objects (mostly groups).

    Lots to do beyond this list, of course, but the ability to view and edit rules and most types of objects seems like a good spot for an alpha-quality release. Real artists ship, and all that.

    The release build right this second is 1.6 MB zipped, 8.2 MB ready to run.
    Last edited by Bob_Zimmerman; 15 Hours Ago at 21:18.

  6. #46
    Join Date
    2007-02-07
    Posts
    162
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: SmartDashboard on macOS

    I'd like to try it out. Where can I find the release build?

  7. #47
    Join Date
    2007-03-30
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    397
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: SmartDashboard on macOS

    Quote Originally Posted by danjun View Post
    I'd like to try it out. Where can I find the release build?
    It's extremely limited right now. Shows most things, but can only manipulate a few of them. The login flow is iffy (it defaults to my lab SmartCenter's address and doesn't remember any others you log into; there are extraneous workstation password prompts from Keychain). The request load it presents consistently crashes the API on my lab SmartCenter when I try to download everything, and it doesn't handle these crashes as gracefully as I would like. It also doesn't currently provide any feedback to the user at all when it's waiting on an API call to return (I have lots of logging, and use the console in Xcode to monitor progress; still figuring out how I want to show in-flight tasks to the user).

    It hasn't caused me any data loss on my lab SmartCenter. I'm reasonably confident it won't cause data loss, but I can't guarantee it. Be sure to take regular backups, both of your management server and of your workstation.

    Knowing those concerns, if you're still interested in trying it, I can certainly send you a copy, along with a copy of my database to poke around in (think Demo Mode). Send me a PM with an email address.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Similar Threads

  1. SecureClient MacOS Global Params
    By dave_c_uk in forum SecureClient/SecuRemote
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-03-09, 03:07
  2. SmartDashboard Bug
    By melipla in forum SmartDashboard
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-04-25, 15:38
  3. SecureClient for MacOS
    By chillyjim in forum SecureClient/SecuRemote
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-05-11, 10:59
  4. smartdashboard help
    By derspot in forum Feedback To Check Point: Suggestions And Requests
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-01-11, 13:50
  5. Can I use Smartdashboard on an old CP?
    By Huisje in forum SmartDashboard
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-08-08, 12:24

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •