CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it again! He has just released the 2nd edition of "Max Power".
Rather than get into details here, I urge you to check out this announcement post.
It's a massive upgrade, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Signs that a RAM upgrade is required

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2014-10-27
    Posts
    150
    Rep Power
    4

    Default Signs that a RAM upgrade is required

    Hi Experts,

    Someone suggested to a customer that the 12400 appliance needs a RAM upgrade from 8GB to 12GB, but i need to quantify that.

    I am after a list of commands and outputs that would tell me this Firewall needs a RAM upgrade.

    Any help would be highly appreciated.

    Thanks
    Bhav
    Bhav

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2009-04-30
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    2,215
    Rep Power
    13

    Default Re: Signs that a RAM upgrade is required

    free -m

    If swap usage reported on the last line is zero a RAM upgrade is probably not required. The bigger the reported swap usage number the more a RAM upgrade will help assuming that Gaia is running in 64-bit mode.
    --
    Second Edition of my "Max Power" Firewall Book
    Now Available at http://www.maxpowerfirewalls.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2006-07-28
    Location
    San Francisco, USA
    Posts
    2,492
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: Signs that a RAM upgrade is required

    What does your monitoring system tell you?

    You _do_ have monitoring in place, right?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2014-10-27
    Posts
    150
    Rep Power
    4

    Default Re: Signs that a RAM upgrade is required

    Thanks Tim,

    That is helpful. I will follow this as well as the firewall health check script :-)

    Cheers
    Bhav
    Quote Originally Posted by ShadowPeak.com View Post
    free -m

    If swap usage reported on the last line is zero a RAM upgrade is probably not required. The bigger the reported swap usage number the more a RAM upgrade will help assuming that Gaia is running in 64-bit mode.
    Bhav

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2014-10-27
    Posts
    150
    Rep Power
    4

    Default Re: Signs that a RAM upgrade is required

    Unfortunately they dont, just complained about policy push time outs and packet drops on the firewal, as well as loss of connectivity to the firewall until reboot.
    Thanks
    Bhav
    Quote Originally Posted by northlandboy View Post
    What does your monitoring system tell you?

    You _do_ have monitoring in place, right?
    Bhav

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2006-07-28
    Location
    San Francisco, USA
    Posts
    2,492
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: Signs that a RAM upgrade is required

    Quote Originally Posted by bhavinjbhatt View Post
    Unfortunately they dont, just complained about policy push time outs and packet drops on the firewal, as well as loss of connectivity to the firewall until reboot.
    Thanks
    Bhav
    Seems that's a far more important problem for them to solve?

    I can never understand why people will spend hundreds of thousands/millions on hardware & software, and not put in basic monitoring systems. Only requires a small time investment, pays dividends in many situations, e.g. like this, where it would be trivial to see how RAM usage was changing over time.

Similar Threads

  1. Urgent help required!!!
    By sachinson04 in forum Clustering (Security Gateway HA and ClusterXL)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-04-09, 11:19
  2. Required 4.1 sp5
    By svelladurai in forum Installing And Upgrading
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-01-08, 02:40
  3. Check Point Signs Agreement to Acquire Nokia's Security Appliance Business
    By gladiatorkev in forum Check Point IP Appliances and IPSO (Formerly Sold By Nokia)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-12-22, 12:13
  4. Required Disk Space for NGXR65 Upgrade on Nokia IP330
    By avilT in forum Installing And Upgrading
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-10-11, 04:05
  5. FW1 NG AI Solaris help required
    By PeteC in forum Sun Solaris
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-03-31, 10:43

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •