CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it again! He has just released the 2nd edition of "Max Power".
Rather than get into details here, I urge you to check out this announcement post.
It's a massive upgrade, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: CMA import fails to R80

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2017-09-21
    Posts
    34
    Rep Power
    0

    Exclamation CMA import fails to R80

    Hiya

    Sorry if this type of question is already answered on this forum.

    I am a bit confused and hope you guys can help me.

    I have done a lot of CMA migration from 77 to 80.10 but never had any issues, but recently while doing another CMA migration from 77 to 80.10 I had encountered below issue.


    Background:

    I have removed global policy and I migrated only the standard policy.

    But its not working, I tried am getting below error at the end of the log.


    [10 May 11:53:12] [CanonicalizePath] Canonicalizing path '/opt/CPmds-R80/customers/AMAZON_MS/CPsuite-R80/fw1/bin/'
    [10 May 11:53:12] [CanonicalizePath] Resulting path: '/opt/CPmds-R80/customers/AMAZON_MS/CPsuite-R80/fw1/bin/'
    [10 May 11:53:12] ....<-- CanonicalizePath
    [10 May 11:53:12] ....--> DbUpgrader::GetDestMainDbVersion
    [10 May 11:53:12] .....--> MigrateConfig::Instance
    [10 May 11:53:12] .....<-- MigrateConfig::Instance
    [10 May 11:53:12] .....--> MigrateConfig::GetConfigSet
    [10 May 11:53:12] .....<-- MigrateConfig::GetConfigSet
    [10 May 11:53:12] .....--> GetVersionString
    [10 May 11:53:12] ......--> IsVersionSetValid
    [10 May 11:53:12] ......<-- IsVersionSetValid
    [10 May 11:53:12] .....<-- GetVersionString
    [10 May 11:53:12] ....<-- DbUpgrader::GetDestMainDbVersion
    [10 May 11:53:12] ...<-- DbUpgrader::BuildMainDbUpgradeCommand
    [10 May 11:53:12] ...--> DbUpgrader::ExecuteCpdb
    [10 May 11:53:12] [DbUpgrader::ExecuteCpdb] Executing cpdb using the following arguments: "/opt/CPmds-R80/customers/AMAZON_MS/CPsuite-R80/fw1/bin/cpdb" up --no-ngm-db-drop --no-ngm-stop --src_version 6.0.4.0 --src_hfa_level 10 --src_path "/opt/CPmds-R80/customers/AMAZON_MS/CPsuite-R80/fw1/tmp//export_db/main_db/" --db_path "/opt/CPmds-R80/customers/AMAZON_MS/CPsuite-R80/fw1/conf/" --default_path "/opt/CPmds-R80/customers/AMAZON_MS/CPsuite-R80/fw1/conf/defaultDatabase" --db_type cma --db-migration
    [10 May 11:53:12] [runShellCommand] Executing command: '"/opt/CPmds-R80/customers/AMAZON_MS/CPsuite-R80/fw1/bin/cpdb" up --no-ngm-db-drop --no-ngm-stop --src_version 6.0.4.0 --src_hfa_level 10 --src_path "/opt/CPmds-R80/customers/AMAZON_MS/CPsuite-R80/fw1/tmp//export_db/main_db/" --db_path "/opt/CPmds-R80/customers/AMAZON_MS/CPsuite-R80/fw1/conf/" --default_path "/opt/CPmds-R80/customers/AMAZON_MS/CPsuite-R80/fw1/conf/defaultDatabase" --db_type cma --db-migration'
    [10 May 11:53:14] [runShellCommand] Execution result: 1, exit code: -1
    [10 May 11:53:14] [DbUpgrader::ExecuteCpdb] ERR: cpdb completed with error code '-1'
    [10 May 11:53:14] ...<-- DbUpgrader::ExecuteCpdb
    [10 May 11:53:14] ..<-- DbUpgrader::UpgradeMainDatabase
    [10 May 11:53:14] [DbUpgrader::exec] ERR: Failed to upgrade main database
    [10 May 11:53:14] .<-- DbUpgrader::exec
    [10 May 11:53:14] <-- ConditionalExecutor::exec
    [10 May 11:53:14] [ActivitiesManager::exec] ERR: Activity 'ConditionalExecutor' failed
    [10 May 11:53:14] [ProgressUpdater::UpdateProgressToGaia] Progress Updated to '66.6667
    [10 May 11:53:14] [ActivitiesManager::exec] WRN: Activities execution finished with errors
    [10 May 11:53:14] [ActivitiesManager::exec] WRN: Activities 'ConditionalExecutor' have failed
    [10 May 11:53:14] [ActivitiesManager::exec] Designated exit code is 1
    [10 May 11:53:14] --> CleanupManager::Instance
    [10 May 11:53:14] .--> CleanupManager::CleanupManager
    [10 May 11:53:14] .<-- CleanupManager::CleanupManager
    [10 May 11:53:14] <-- CleanupManager::Instance
    [10 May 11:53:14] --> CleanupManager:oCleanup
    [10 May 11:53:14] [CleanupManager:oCleanup] Starting to perform cleanup
    [10 May 11:53:14] [CleanupManager:oCleanup] Completed the cleanup
    [10 May 11:53:14] <-- CleanupManager:oCleanup


    Any help would be appreciated.

    jessica

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2008-07-31
    Location
    Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    1,133
    Rep Power
    11

    Default Re: CMA import fails to R80

    There has been a update on the migration tools 2 to 3 moths ago, so do make sure that you have the latest version.
    Been having similar problems also when the Globals were not removed until I finally migrated the Global Policy as well.
    Regards, Maarten.
    Triple MDS on R77.30, MDS on R80.10, VSX, GAIA.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2017-09-21
    Posts
    34
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: CMA import fails to R80

    Quote Originally Posted by msjouw View Post
    There has been a update on the migration tools 2 to 3 moths ago, so do make sure that you have the latest version.
    Been having similar problems also when the Globals were not removed until I finally migrated the Global Policy as well.
    Thanks, I was using the latest tool published on the 25th of March.

    Dont know what the error message indicates, what could have gone wrong, no idea

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2008-07-31
    Location
    Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    1,133
    Rep Power
    11

    Default Re: CMA import fails to R80

    Jessica,

    Have a look at the cpm.elg in the dir /var/log/opt/CPsuite-R80/fw1/log/ maybe you see some indicators there.
    This is where the process will store the actual process logs of the import.
    My best guess for you will be to open a case and upload that file into the ticket so CP can look at the problem and where it fails.
    Regards, Maarten.
    Triple MDS on R77.30, MDS on R80.10, VSX, GAIA.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2007-03-30
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    198
    Rep Power
    12

    Default Re: CMA import fails to R80

    These are the two immediately-relevant lines:

    [10 May 11:53:12] [runShellCommand] Executing command: '"/opt/CPmds-R80/customers/AMAZON_MS/CPsuite-R80/fw1/bin/cpdb" up --no-ngm-db-drop --no-ngm-stop --src_version 6.0.4.0 --src_hfa_level 10 --src_path "/opt/CPmds-R80/customers/AMAZON_MS/CPsuite-R80/fw1/tmp//export_db/main_db/" --db_path "/opt/CPmds-R80/customers/AMAZON_MS/CPsuite-R80/fw1/conf/" --default_path "/opt/CPmds-R80/customers/AMAZON_MS/CPsuite-R80/fw1/conf/defaultDatabase" --db_type cma --db-migration'
    [10 May 11:53:14] [runShellCommand] Execution result: 1, exit code: -1



    Evidently the command in the first of those two lines failed. Maybe try running it manually? It might print more information to the screen than it records in the log.

    Note that since we don't know exactly what it does, I absolutely would not run it on a production system.
    Zimmie

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2017-09-21
    Posts
    34
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: CMA import fails to R80

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob_Zimmerman View Post
    These are the two immediately-relevant lines:

    [10 May 11:53:12] [runShellCommand] Executing command: '"/opt/CPmds-R80/customers/AMAZON_MS/CPsuite-R80/fw1/bin/cpdb" up --no-ngm-db-drop --no-ngm-stop --src_version 6.0.4.0 --src_hfa_level 10 --src_path "/opt/CPmds-R80/customers/AMAZON_MS/CPsuite-R80/fw1/tmp//export_db/main_db/" --db_path "/opt/CPmds-R80/customers/AMAZON_MS/CPsuite-R80/fw1/conf/" --default_path "/opt/CPmds-R80/customers/AMAZON_MS/CPsuite-R80/fw1/conf/defaultDatabase" --db_type cma --db-migration'
    [10 May 11:53:14] [runShellCommand] Execution result: 1, exit code: -1



    Evidently the command in the first of those two lines failed. Maybe try running it manually? It might print more information to the screen than it records in the log.

    Note that since we don't know exactly what it does, I absolutely would not run it on a production system.

    Thanks Bob, I will pass it to TAC.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    2008-07-31
    Location
    Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    1,133
    Rep Power
    11

    Default Re: CMA import fails to R80

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob_Zimmerman View Post
    These are the two immediately-relevant lines:

    [10 May 11:53:12] [runShellCommand] Executing command: '"/opt/CPmds-R80/customers/AMAZON_MS/CPsuite-R80/fw1/bin/cpdb" up --no-ngm-db-drop --no-ngm-stop --src_version 6.0.4.0 --src_hfa_level 10 --src_path "/opt/CPmds-R80/customers/AMAZON_MS/CPsuite-R80/fw1/tmp//export_db/main_db/" --db_path "/opt/CPmds-R80/customers/AMAZON_MS/CPsuite-R80/fw1/conf/" --default_path "/opt/CPmds-R80/customers/AMAZON_MS/CPsuite-R80/fw1/conf/defaultDatabase" --db_type cma --db-migration'
    [10 May 11:53:14] [runShellCommand] Execution result: 1, exit code: -1



    Evidently the command in the first of those two lines failed. Maybe try running it manually? It might print more information to the screen than it records in the log.
    Bob, As I posted already the logging of that command is stored in cpm.elg, which is the actual migration process.
    Regards, Maarten.
    Triple MDS on R77.30, MDS on R80.10, VSX, GAIA.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    2007-03-30
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    198
    Rep Power
    12

    Default Re: CMA import fails to R80

    Quote Originally Posted by msjouw View Post
    Bob, As I posted already the logging of that command is stored in cpm.elg, which is the actual migration process.
    Oh. Sure enough. I must have missed that.
    Zimmie

  9. #9
    Join Date
    2005-08-14
    Location
    Gig Harbor, WA, USA
    Posts
    2,464
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: CMA import fails to R80

    As I suggested on the same thread on CheckMates, it's probably a good idea to get the TAC involved with this.
    At least some internal SKs suggest part of the database might be corrupt.
    http://phoneboy.org
    Unless otherwise noted, views expressed are my own

Similar Threads

  1. migrate import fails on 75.47 management
    By RyuCP in forum Installing And Upgrading
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-11-18, 07:24
  2. P12 Cert Import
    By sleepytom in forum Mobile Access Blade (Formerly Connectra)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-02-06, 11:40
  3. Migrate Import Fails R75.20
    By Richter in forum Installing And Upgrading
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2012-07-16, 17:29
  4. upgrade import from R70.30 to R71
    By murderousmurk in forum Installing And Upgrading
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2010-06-05, 10:28
  5. Import policy fails
    By paprichaat in forum Installing And Upgrading
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-11-22, 17:34

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •