CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it again! He has just released the 2nd edition of "Max Power".
Rather than get into details here, I urge you to check out this announcement post.
It's a massive upgrade, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: upgrading from R77.20 SPLAT to R80.10 GAIA

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2014-11-23
    Posts
    35
    Rep Power
    0

    Default upgrading from R77.20 SPLAT to R80.10 GAIA

    I am running a cluster of four firewalls on open servers SPLAT 77.20 and want to upgrade to GAIA 77.30 or 80.10. There seems to be no upgrade path available according to the upgrade wizard on the Checkpoint User Centre. The only upgrades available are from SPLAT 77.20 to SPAT 77.30. However if I upgrade to SPLAT 77.30 there is no upgrade path to any GAIA versions.
    Does this mean that if I want to upgrade to GIAI I will need to do a complete rebuild of the firewalls? I would rather avoid this if possible.
    (I am running the management server on GAIA 80.10 having done a fresh install and then a database import)
    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2011-08-02
    Location
    http://spikefishsolutions.com
    Posts
    1,637
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: upgrading from R77.20 SPLAT to R80.10 GAIA

    yeah, looks like it might not be a supported path. I would export the mgmt server database, rebuild in VM, import and then build new firewalls and test out pushing policies and what not.

    Looks like you're looking at a migration the mgmt server and a rebuild on the gateways.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2007-03-30
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    272
    Rep Power
    12

    Default Re: upgrading from R77.20 SPLAT to R80.10 GAIA

    Quote Originally Posted by PeterSmith78 View Post
    I am running a cluster of four firewalls on open servers SPLAT 77.20 and want to upgrade to GAIA 77.30 or 80.10. There seems to be no upgrade path available according to the upgrade wizard on the Checkpoint User Centre. The only upgrades available are from SPLAT 77.20 to SPAT 77.30. However if I upgrade to SPLAT 77.30 there is no upgrade path to any GAIA versions.
    Does this mean that if I want to upgrade to GIAI I will need to do a complete rebuild of the firewalls? I would rather avoid this if possible.
    (I am running the management server on GAIA 80.10 having done a fresh install and then a database import)
    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
    Correct, you cannot upgrade-in-place from SecurePlatform to GAiA. R80-family releases are only offered with GAiA, so to move to them, you will have to rebuild.

    Fortunately, firewalls are usually really easy to rebuild. All of the rules are on the SmartCenter. The big things you need to know are:
    • hostname
    • local interface config of the member
    • cluster ID (fw ctl get int wha_mac_magic)
    • routing configuration (both static and dynamic, if you use it)
    • any customizations you have made (these are most commonly in $FWDIR/boot/modules/fwkern.conf).

    I believe R77.20 on GAiA can sync with R77.20 on SecurePlatform. You should be able to treat the move to GAiA at the same version like replacing a failed member. Once your firewalls are all on GAiA, then you can upgrade from R77.20 to whatever you want.
    Zimmie

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2014-11-23
    Posts
    35
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: upgrading from R77.20 SPLAT to R80.10 GAIA

    thanks very much both for your replies, I'll do the rebuilds (probably best anyway to have a clean build)

Similar Threads

  1. Upgrading from IPSO R65 TO Gaia R77.30
    By carl_t in forum R77.30
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2016-03-04, 18:21
  2. Upgrading Gaia R77 to R77.30 Advise
    By WangL in forum Check Point Firewall Administrator's Toolkit
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2016-02-10, 02:55
  3. .rpm error while upgrading from IPSO to GAIA
    By clickmesri in forum R75.40 (GAiA)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2013-11-25, 05:24
  4. upgrading to R76 Gaia
    By r_balest in forum R75.40 (GAiA)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2013-10-07, 07:47
  5. problems with upgrading ipso to gaia
    By johan in forum R75.40 (GAiA)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-08-17, 12:00

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •