CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it again! He has just released the 2nd edition of "Max Power".
Rather than get into details here, I urge you to check out this announcement post.
It's a massive upgrade, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Domain Objects in R80.10 and above - sk120633

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2006-09-26
    Posts
    3,172
    Rep Power
    16

    Default Domain Objects in R80.10 and above - sk120633

    Finally, Checkpoint has caught up with the real world with domain object. Look like non FQDN mode will solve a lot of issues, that is until I see this:

    Non-FQDN mode
    When upgrading domain objects from pre-R80.10, this option is enforced

    does this mean that you're stuck with Non-FQDN mode if you upgrade from version R77.30 to R80.10?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2011-08-02
    Location
    http://spikefishsolutions.com
    Posts
    1,637
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Domain Objects in R80.10 and above - sk120633

    Quote Originally Posted by cciesec2006 View Post
    Finally, Checkpoint has caught up with the real world with domain object. Look like non FQDN mode will solve a lot of issues, that is until I see this:

    Non-FQDN mode
    When upgrading domain objects from pre-R80.10, this option is enforced

    does this mean that you're stuck with Non-FQDN mode if you upgrade from version R77.30 to R80.10?
    My guess is what they are saying is existing domain objects (We're talking upgrade here) will not be converted to FQDN mode. Also I would assume the gateway needs to be running R80.10 as well.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2016-06-10
    Posts
    23
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Domain Objects in R80.10 and above - sk120633

    Why didn't we automatically upgrade all domain objects?
    - Because you may still have policies pre-R80.10 which still use them or plan to use them in pre-R80.10 policies.
    - Because syntax of the domain name may have to be different when using the FQDN mode

Similar Threads

  1. Filtering for domain objects in Tracker?
    By danjun in forum SmartView Tracker
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-02-08, 11:15
  2. Use of Domain Objects ? (R62 onwards.)
    By CPWotcha in forum Miscellaneous
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-06-15, 10:32
  3. Domain Objects in the Firewall Policy
    By mkguy in forum Check Point SecurePlatform (SPLAT)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-10-31, 03:35
  4. Edge not working with domain objects?
    By Carsten in forum Check Point UTM-1 Edge Appliances
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-09-25, 05:49
  5. Applying Domain Objects in Rules
    By Barry J. Stiefel in forum Miscellaneous
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-08-13, 01:10

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •