CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it yet again - That's right, the 3rd edition is here!
You can read his announcement post here.
It's a massive upgrade focusing on current versions, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: cplic print -x licensing issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2006-09-26
    Posts
    3,194
    Rep Power
    17

    Default cplic print -x licensing issue

    I have a pair of firewalls running R75.47 with cluster XL Active/Standby, managed by R77.30 CMA. When I use cplic print -x, I see this:

    [Expert@gw02]# cplic print -x
    Host Expiration Signature Features
    192.168.1.1 never abd123J9P8tL8QXDx7ZLRabcdKk1234abdc12 CPSG-C-2-500 CPSB-FW CPSG-U CPSB-ACCL CPSB-IA CPSB-IPS CK-XXXXXXXXXXX
    192.168.1.1 never xyz123J9P8tL8QXDx7ZLRabcdKk1234abdc56 CPSG-C-2-500 CPSB-FW CPSG-U CPSB-ACCL CPSB-IA CPSB-ADNC CPSB-IPS CK-YYYYYYYYYYY

    Contract Coverage:

    # ID Expiration SKU
    ===+===========+============+====================
    1 | 1FCAD12 | 1Jan2017 | CPES-SS-PREMIUM
    +-----------+------------+--------------------
    |Covers: CPSG-C-2-500 CPSB-FW CPSG-U CPSB-ACCL CPSB-IA CPSB-ADNC CPSB-IPS CK-XXXXXXXXXXX
    | CPSG-C-2-500 CPSB-FW CPSG-U CPSB-ACCL CPSB-IA CPSB-IPS CK-YYYYYYYYYYY
    ===+===========+============+====================
    [Expert@gw02]#

    When I run cpconfig and set CoreXL, I can only set the CoreXL to maximum to 2 and I can NOT set it to anything higher than 2.

    I am going to upgrade the the gateways to R77.30 with JHFA 286. I re-image both gateways to R77.30 ClusterXL H/A. PRIOR to applying the license, I set the number of CoreXL in cpconfig to 2.

    After I applied the license listed above, it automatically change the number of CoreXL to 4.

    Is this normal?

    thoughts?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2011-08-02
    Location
    http://spikefishsolutions.com
    Posts
    1,657
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: cplic print -x licensing issue

    Quote Originally Posted by cciesec2006 View Post
    I have a pair of firewalls running R75.47 with cluster XL Active/Standby, managed by R77.30 CMA. When I use cplic print -x, I see this:

    [Expert@gw02]# cplic print -x
    Host Expiration Signature Features
    192.168.1.1 never abd123J9P8tL8QXDx7ZLRabcdKk1234abdc12 CPSG-C-2-500 CPSB-FW CPSG-U CPSB-ACCL CPSB-IA CPSB-IPS CK-XXXXXXXXXXX
    192.168.1.1 never xyz123J9P8tL8QXDx7ZLRabcdKk1234abdc56 CPSG-C-2-500 CPSB-FW CPSG-U CPSB-ACCL CPSB-IA CPSB-ADNC CPSB-IPS CK-YYYYYYYYYYY

    Contract Coverage:

    # ID Expiration SKU
    ===+===========+============+====================
    1 | 1FCAD12 | 1Jan2017 | CPES-SS-PREMIUM
    +-----------+------------+--------------------
    |Covers: CPSG-C-2-500 CPSB-FW CPSG-U CPSB-ACCL CPSB-IA CPSB-ADNC CPSB-IPS CK-XXXXXXXXXXX
    | CPSG-C-2-500 CPSB-FW CPSG-U CPSB-ACCL CPSB-IA CPSB-IPS CK-YYYYYYYYYYY
    ===+===========+============+====================
    [Expert@gw02]#

    When I run cpconfig and set CoreXL, I can only set the CoreXL to maximum to 2 and I can NOT set it to anything higher than 2.

    I am going to upgrade the the gateways to R77.30 with JHFA 286. I re-image both gateways to R77.30 ClusterXL H/A. PRIOR to applying the license, I set the number of CoreXL in cpconfig to 2.

    After I applied the license listed above, it automatically change the number of CoreXL to 4.

    Is this normal?

    thoughts?
    I haven't dealt with open server licensing much, so keep that in mind, but are the two licenses the same only one had advance blade added to the container or are they different? Just thinking maybe its seeing 2 x 2 core licenses?

    Account Services might be the quickest way to an answer if no one else has any ideas. 972 444 6600 x 5

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2005-08-14
    Location
    Gig Harbor, WA, USA
    Posts
    2,494
    Rep Power
    17

    Default Re: cplic print -x licensing issue

    License strings aren't cumulative, so you should only have two cores.
    http://phoneboy.org
    Unless otherwise noted, views expressed are my own

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2011-08-02
    Location
    http://spikefishsolutions.com
    Posts
    1,657
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: cplic print -x licensing issue

    Well, does it let you use both 4 cores? Sounds like a bbuy 2 get 2 free deal if so.

    Try throwing up a vm and seeing if you get the same thing?
    Last edited by jflemingeds; 2017-10-11 at 21:18.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2006-09-26
    Posts
    3,194
    Rep Power
    17

    Default Re: cplic print -x licensing issue

    Quote Originally Posted by PhoneBoy View Post
    License strings aren't cumulative, so you should only have two cores.
    LOL. "should" and what I am actually seeing is two different things.

    What I am trying to understand is that with the exact license on the R75.47, I can only configure 2 CPUs CoreXL under cpconfig. I can NOT change the CoreXL from 2 to 4 after applying the license

    With R77.30 with JFHA 286, it let me configure with 2 CPUs CoreXL under cpconfig. As soon as I applied the license, it automatically changes it to 4 CPUs CoreXL

    No I don't have access to a VM environment to check this.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2005-08-14
    Location
    Gig Harbor, WA, USA
    Posts
    2,494
    Rep Power
    17

    Default Re: cplic print -x licensing issue

    The behavior you observed under R75.47 is correct, what you're seeing under the latest R77.30 JHF is clearly not.
    Why do you need two different license strings for the same host?
    http://phoneboy.org
    Unless otherwise noted, views expressed are my own

  7. #7
    Join Date
    2006-09-26
    Posts
    3,194
    Rep Power
    17

    Default Re: cplic print -x licensing issue

    Quote Originally Posted by PhoneBoy View Post
    what you're seeing under the latest R77.30 JHF is clearly not.
    Is this another "bug" in R77.30?

    Quote Originally Posted by PhoneBoy View Post
    Why do you need two different license strings for the same host?
    they are legacy firewalls and I didn't build them. I just want them to be consistent with R77.30 as well.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    2011-08-02
    Location
    http://spikefishsolutions.com
    Posts
    1,657
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: cplic print -x licensing issue

    So take the time to fix the licensing issue. If you'll call account services they should be able to explain the differences between the two licenses, which doesn't seem right.

    Or you know.. um.. use 4 cores instead of two.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    2005-08-14
    Location
    Gig Harbor, WA, USA
    Posts
    2,494
    Rep Power
    17

    Default Re: cplic print -x licensing issue

    I can tell you what the difference between the two license strings is: one has "advanced networking and clustering" (e.g. CPSB-ADNC), one does not.
    The licenses are otherwise redundant.
    http://phoneboy.org
    Unless otherwise noted, views expressed are my own

  10. #10
    Join Date
    2006-03-08
    Location
    Lausanne
    Posts
    1,030
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: cplic print -x licensing issue

    Quote Originally Posted by PhoneBoy View Post
    I can tell you what the difference between the two license strings is: one has "advanced networking and clustering" (e.g. CPSB-ADNC), one does not.
    The licenses are otherwise redundant.
    yet, additive effect for the cores is kinda... unexpected, ah?
    -------------

    Valeri Loukine
    CCMA, CCSM, CCSI
    http://checkpoint-master-architect.blogspot.com/

  11. #11
    Join Date
    2005-08-14
    Location
    Gig Harbor, WA, USA
    Posts
    2,494
    Rep Power
    17

    Default Re: cplic print -x licensing issue

    Quote Originally Posted by varera View Post
    yet, additive effect for the cores is kinda... unexpected, ah?
    Definitely.
    http://phoneboy.org
    Unless otherwise noted, views expressed are my own

Similar Threads

  1. Licensing issue
    By bhavinjbhatt in forum R80
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2017-06-22, 03:22
  2. Licensing issue
    By oharek in forum Intermediate
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2014-10-27, 16:12
  3. Licensing issue.
    By David.Baldwin in forum Licensing
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2011-03-17, 10:17
  4. Licensing issue
    By confusex in forum Check Point IP Appliances and IPSO (Formerly Sold By Nokia)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-01-19, 06:42
  5. licensing issue
    By starmanone in forum Licensing
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-09-01, 04:22

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •