CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it yet again - That's right, the 3rd edition is here!
You can read his announcement post here.
It's a massive upgrade focusing on current versions, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Newbie Question - What Does Prob Stands For?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2017-05-16
    Posts
    15
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Newbie Question - What Does Prob Stands For?

    Q1 For the command cphaprob, I am aware that:
    cp stands for checkpoint
    ha stands for high availability
    What does prob stands for? I only think of probability.


    Q2 How does one check for clusterXL , which is the primary or secondary FW?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2013-09-25
    Location
    Bucharest
    Posts
    649
    Rep Power
    7

    Default Re: Newbie Question - What Does Prob Stands For?

    Quote Originally Posted by custom View Post
    Q2 How does one check for clusterXL , which is the primary or secondary FW?
    cphaprob state

    Cluster Mode: High Availability (Revert to Primary cluster member when possible) with IGMP Membership

    Number Unique Address Assigned Load State

    1 (local) 192.168.200.1 100% Active
    2 192.168.200.2 0% Standby

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2012-07-10
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    257
    Rep Power
    8

    Default Re: Newbie Question - What Does Prob Stands For?

    prob stands prob(ably) for "probing"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2009-04-30
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    2,252
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Re: Newbie Question - What Does Prob Stands For?

    Always thought it was cphaprobe, then shortened to old Windows 8.3 character limit (i.e. cphaprob.exe)
    --
    Third Edition of my "Max Power 2020" Firewall Book
    Now Available at http://www.maxpowerfirewalls.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2011-08-02
    Location
    http://spikefishsolutions.com
    Posts
    1,658
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Newbie Question - What Does Prob Stands For?

    All nice guesses but what it really means is proboscidian. This is in reference to the elephant in the room, which is the clustering issue that no one is talking about.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2014-11-25
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Newbie Question - What Does Prob Stands For?

    Actually the prob word refers to investigating some information like SNMP does using trap for oid.

    Sent from my Redmi 3S using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    2006-03-08
    Location
    Lausanne
    Posts
    1,030
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: Newbie Question - What Does Prob Stands For?

    cphaprob:

    cp - Check Point
    ha - High Availability
    prob - probe
    -------------

    Valeri Loukine
    CCMA, CCSM, CCSI
    http://checkpoint-master-architect.blogspot.com/

Similar Threads

  1. Newbie question: ClusterXL vs HA
    By hotice_ in forum Clustering (Security Gateway HA and ClusterXL)
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 2009-12-10, 12:06
  2. A question from an Integrity Newbie
    By Yasushi Kono in forum Secure Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-03-22, 06:33
  3. A question of a RADIUS newbie
    By Yasushi Kono in forum Authentication
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-01-26, 12:16
  4. Newbie Installation Question
    By rmoss25 in forum Installing And Upgrading
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-09-29, 07:45
  5. Checkpoint Platform - Newbie Question
    By Diggs in forum Miscellaneous
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-12-22, 10:56

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •