CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it yet again - That's right, the 3rd edition is here!
You can read his announcement post here.
It's a massive upgrade focusing on current versions, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: VSX Connectivity Upgrade Error - CPHAPROB can't see old member on VSID 0.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2006-03-21
    Posts
    87
    Rep Power
    14

    Default VSX Connectivity Upgrade Error - CPHAPROB can't see old member on VSID 0.

    Hi,

    Hopefully someone can give me light on this issue...

    scenario: VSX VSLS upgrade R77.10 to R77.30 Jumbo HFA 205 using connectivity upgrade method. All VS'es running on one member during the upgrade. VSX gateways being managed with Multi-Domain

    Status before issuing 'cphacu start'

    Code:
    [Expert@VSX2:0]# cphaprob state
    
    Cluster Mode:   Virtual System Load Sharing
    
    Number     Unique Address  Assigned Load   State
    
    2 (local)  10.255.255.66  0%              Ready
    
    (*) 'Ready' state might be caused due to configuration inconsistency between members:
        32bit/64bit/usermode, number of CoreXL instances or different SW version.
    
    Cluster name: FWVSX
    
    Virtual Devices Status on each Cluster Member
    =============================================
    
     ID    | Weight| FWVSX2
           |       | [local]
    -------+-------+-----------
     1     | 10    | Ready
     2     | 10    | Ready
     3     | 10    | Ready
     4     | 10    | Ready
     5     | 10    | Ready
     6     | 10    | Ready
    ---------------+-----------
     Active        | 0
     Weight        | 0
     Weight (%)    | 0
    
    Legend:  Init - Initializing, Active! - Active Attention
             Down! - ClusterXL Inactive or Virtual System is Down
    'cphacu start' finishes with the following error: get_old_member_info: Connectivity upgrade failed since CPHAPROB can't see old member on VSID 0.

    Code:
    [Expert@VSX2:0]# cphacu start
    
    Starting Connectivity Upgrade...
    
    Waiting until the new member is able to communicate with Active old member... 1/10
    Waiting until the new member is able to communicate with Active old member... 2/10
    Waiting until the new member is able to communicate with Active old member... 3/10
    Waiting until the new member is able to communicate with Active old member... 4/10
    Waiting until the new member is able to communicate with Active old member... 5/10
    Waiting until the new member is able to communicate with Active old member... 6/10
    Waiting until the new member is able to communicate with Active old member... 7/10
    Waiting until the new member is able to communicate with Active old member... 8/10
    Waiting until the new member is able to communicate with Active old member... 9/10
    Waiting until the new member is able to communicate with Active old member... 10/10
    get_old_member_info: Connectivity upgrade failed since CPHAPROB can't see old member on VSID 0.
    Traffic is impacted over the VS'es running in the Active VSX after 'cphacu start' finishes

    Status in active gateway is

    Code:
    [Expert@VSX1:0]# cphaprob state
    
    Cluster Mode:   Virtual System Load Sharing
    
    Number     Unique Address  Assigned Load   State
    
    1 (local)  10.255.255.65  100%            Active
    2          10.255.255.66  0%              ClusterXL Inactive or Machine is Down
    
    Cluster name: FWVSX
    
    Virtual Devices Status on each Cluster Member
    =============================================
    
     ID    | Weight| FWVSX1    | FWVSX2
           |       | [local]   |
    -------+-------+-----------+-----------
     1     | 10    | Active!   | Down!
     2     | 10    | Active!   | Down!
     3     | 10    | Active!   | Down!
     4     | 10    | Active!   | Down!
     5     | 10    | Active!   | Down!
     6     | 10    | Active!   | Down!
    ---------------+-----------+-----------
     Active        | 6         | 0
     Weight        | 60        | 0
     Weight (%)    | 100       | 0
    
    Legend:  Init - Initializing, Active! - Active Attention
             Down! - ClusterXL Inactive or Virtual System is Down
    Status in upgraded gateway after 'cphacu start' is finished

    Code:
    [Expert@VSX2:0]# cphaprob state
    
    Cluster Mode:   Virtual System Load Sharing
    
    Number     Unique Address  Assigned Load   State
    
    1          10.255.255.6  0%              ClusterXL Inactive or Machine is Down
    2 (local)  10.255.255.66  0%              Ready
    
    (*) 'Ready' state might be caused due to configuration inconsistency between members:
        32bit/64bit/usermode, number of CoreXL instances or different SW version.
    
    Cluster name: FWVSX
    
    Virtual Devices Status on each Cluster Member
    =============================================
    
     ID    | Weight| FWVSX1    |  FWVSX2
           |       |           | [local]
    -------+-------+-----------+-----------
     1     | 10    | Down!     | Ready
     2     | 10    | Down!     | Ready
     3     | 10    | Down!     | Ready
     4     | 10    | Down!     | Ready
     5     | 10    | Down!     | Ready
     6     | 10    | Down!     | Ready
    ---------------+-----------+-----------
     Active        | 0         | 0
     Weight        | 0         | 0
     Weight (%)    | 0         | 0
    
    Legend:  Init - Initializing, Active! - Active Attention
             Down! - ClusterXL Inactive or Virtual System is Down
    I have managed to upgrade this cluster (with a small outage). However, additional upgrades are planned over the following weeks and having minimal outage is a must.

    Has anyone faced this issue?

    The Connectivity Upgrade document describes a similar error with this description

    When CU starts, the two members begin to communicate, and the new member sees the old member as Active. Check communication on the sync interface, and make sure that the MAC Magic Configuration is correct.

    I have checked and:

    - Magic MAC configuration seems to be the same in both gateways (even though the upgraded VSX makes use of the cluster_id parameter)
    - SYNC interfaces are communicating properly

    Thanks for any idea on this issue..

    Regards

    Ed

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2006-03-08
    Location
    Lausanne
    Posts
    1,030
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: VSX Connectivity Upgrade Error - CPHAPROB can't see old member on VSID 0.

    Did you put them into broadcast mode before going for CU?

    Here it seems they can hear each other but cannot sync.
    -------------

    Valeri Loukine
    CCMA, CCSM, CCSI
    http://checkpoint-master-architect.blogspot.com/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2006-03-21
    Posts
    87
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Re: VSX Connectivity Upgrade Error - CPHAPROB can't see old member on VSID 0.

    Quote Originally Posted by varera View Post
    Did you put them into broadcast mode before going for CU?

    Hi Valeri,

    No I didn't. However, I have been able to replicate the issue in my lab.

    Thanks for the idea, I'll try it in my lab and come back with the results

    Cheers

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2006-03-08
    Location
    Lausanne
    Posts
    1,030
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: VSX Connectivity Upgrade Error - CPHAPROB can't see old member on VSID 0.

    looking forward to hear the findings.
    -------------

    Valeri Loukine
    CCMA, CCSM, CCSI
    http://checkpoint-master-architect.blogspot.com/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2016-01-14
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: VSX Connectivity Upgrade Error - CPHAPROB can't see old member on VSID 0.

    Hi,

    I have recently upgrade from R77.20 to R77.30 with hotfix take 216 and bulid 1283...

    Once one standby node will upgrade need to run cphacu start CMD to sync connection table with another member..

    Once sync done use cpstop on another node traffic move newly upgraded node...some intermittent traffic might be effected....

    Till both node are not on same version it's shows ...ready /down.

    Traffic going on ready ..

    Sent from my A1601 using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2017-03-01
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: VSX Connectivity Upgrade Error - CPHAPROB can't see old member on VSID 0.

    Hi Ed,

    I am preparing for a VSX upgrade from R77.10 to R77.30 and I have run into the same issue in my lab. I tried changing to broadcast mode, but that did not help. Did you find a solution?

    Thanks,

    Jonne.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    2017-03-01
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: VSX Connectivity Upgrade Error - CPHAPROB can't see old member on VSID 0.

    Hi all,

    I logged a support call about this issue and after some time, the engineer suggested to try a clean install instead of in-place upgrade. After doing a clean install, the Connectivity Upgrade worked. It appears that Connectivity Upgrade will only work with a clean install and not an in-place upgrade.

    Thanks,

    Jonne.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    2006-03-21
    Posts
    87
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Re: VSX Connectivity Upgrade Error - CPHAPROB can't see old member on VSID 0.

    Hi Jonne,

    Thanks for the updates. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to find a solution either. I managed to get approval for a short maintenance window :) and upgraded without using CU.

    Cheers

Similar Threads

  1. TCP Connectivity Failure (Port =18191) Error No. 10
    By Ahmed zayed in forum Check Point UTM-1 Appliances
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2012-06-30, 21:33
  2. r65.70 upgrade --> r71.10 full connectivity upgrade issues
    By lordbigsack in forum Installing And Upgrading
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-01-13, 12:55
  3. TCP Connectivity Failure (Port =18191) Error No. 10
    By networkuser in forum SmartDashboard
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-04-29, 09:53
  4. cphaprob state: 'during cluster upgrade'
    By Reaper in forum Check Point IP Appliances and IPSO (Formerly Sold By Nokia)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2008-09-18, 09:02
  5. cphaprob state: 'during cluster upgrade'
    By Reaper in forum Installing And Upgrading
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-05-24, 09:37

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •