CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


** Announcing the #CPUGchallenge **

I'm very happy to announce that CPUG will be hosting "The CPUG Challenge" during CPX this year.
It promises to be a fun and interesting event that will test (and maybe even expand) your knowledge of R80.10.
Whether or not you plan to attend CPX, we have something for you. Please check out this post or the CPUGchallenge.com web site for more information. -E

 

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: SmartView Monitor Incorrect Average CPU

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2015-01-29
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0

    Default SmartView Monitor Incorrect Average CPU

    Hi,

    I have a distributed environment with 2 Security Managements and 2 Gateways operating in cluster load sharing. All running Gaia R77.20 (OpenServer).

    These servers have 16 cpu cores, but my checkpoint licenses only allow the use of 4 cores.

    The problem is that SmartView Monitor is showing in the "Average CPU" column a value that corresponds to the use of all the cores that exist on the hardware server (16 CPUs), not the 4 cores licensed.

    Sample:

    SmartView Monitor shows a AVG CPU load of 13%.
    TOP command on CLI shows 16 cores, but only 4 are working with 52% load each one.

    Based on TOP, the average load is 52% (208 total divided by 4 CPUs)
    SmartView Monitor is showing 13% (208 / 16) when the correct should be 52%.

    How can I solve it on SmartView Monitor to it show me AVG CPU load based only on licensed CPU cores?

    Thanks in advance for help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2014-10-10
    Posts
    217
    Rep Power
    3

    Default Re: SmartView Monitor Incorrect Average CPU

    I'm not believing what Smartview is showing for CPU, I rely on top because I can look at processes I want to, like 'fw_worke'r. On each gateways I have simple bash script running every 10sec which parses top results and post them to influxDB. Then I use Grafana to build CPU load diagrams, see here

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2006-10-25
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: SmartView Monitor Incorrect Average CPU

    Quote Originally Posted by Edu_web View Post
    Hi,

    I have a distributed environment with 2 Security Managements and 2 Gateways operating in cluster load sharing. All running Gaia R77.20 (OpenServer).

    These servers have 16 cpu cores, but my checkpoint licenses only allow the use of 4 cores.

    The problem is that SmartView Monitor is showing in the "Average CPU" column a value that corresponds to the use of all the cores that exist on the hardware server (16 CPUs), not the 4 cores licensed.

    Sample:

    SmartView Monitor shows a AVG CPU load of 13%.
    TOP command on CLI shows 16 cores, but only 4 are working with 52% load each one.

    Based on TOP, the average load is 52% (208 total divided by 4 CPUs)
    SmartView Monitor is showing 13% (208 / 16) when the correct should be 52%.

    How can I solve it on SmartView Monitor to it show me AVG CPU load based only on licensed CPU cores?

    Thanks in advance for help.

    CPView might be a good option for this as well.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2006-03-08
    Location
    Lausanne
    Posts
    865
    Rep Power
    12

    Default Re: SmartView Monitor Incorrect Average CPU

    SmartViewMonitor show average CPU usage for all cores and only that. If 4 out of 15 cores are running 50%, the average is equal to 4*50/16=12.5%.

    This is one of the classic issues about deriving performance figures from SmartViewMonitor.
    -------------

    Valeri Loukine
    CCMA, CCSM, CCSI
    http://checkpoint-master-architect.blogspot.com/

Similar Threads

  1. Bug in SmartView Monitor?
    By amani in forum SmartView Monitor
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-11-24, 09:21
  2. WHY both SmartView Monitor AND SmartView Tracker?
    By AllanKjśr in forum CCSA NGX R65 Exam 156-215.65
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-10-20, 09:57
  3. Smartview Monitor
    By lbraid in forum Check Point IP Appliances and IPSO (Formerly Sold By Nokia)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-07-10, 22:12
  4. Smartview Monitor
    By maurox in forum Licensing
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-06-25, 08:47
  5. Time in SmartView Tracker incorrect
    By kaojo in forum SmartView Tracker
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-11-16, 03:58

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •