CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


I'd like to thank everyone involved for making "The CPUG Challenge" a great success.
We helped a lot of people see and learn a bit more about R80.10, while having some fun.
We will be using this success to try and bring more events to more locations soon. -E

 

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: SmartView Monitor Incorrect Average CPU

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2015-01-29
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0

    Default SmartView Monitor Incorrect Average CPU

    Hi,

    I have a distributed environment with 2 Security Managements and 2 Gateways operating in cluster load sharing. All running Gaia R77.20 (OpenServer).

    These servers have 16 cpu cores, but my checkpoint licenses only allow the use of 4 cores.

    The problem is that SmartView Monitor is showing in the "Average CPU" column a value that corresponds to the use of all the cores that exist on the hardware server (16 CPUs), not the 4 cores licensed.

    Sample:

    SmartView Monitor shows a AVG CPU load of 13%.
    TOP command on CLI shows 16 cores, but only 4 are working with 52% load each one.

    Based on TOP, the average load is 52% (208 total divided by 4 CPUs)
    SmartView Monitor is showing 13% (208 / 16) when the correct should be 52%.

    How can I solve it on SmartView Monitor to it show me AVG CPU load based only on licensed CPU cores?

    Thanks in advance for help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2014-10-10
    Posts
    242
    Rep Power
    3

    Default Re: SmartView Monitor Incorrect Average CPU

    I'm not believing what Smartview is showing for CPU, I rely on top because I can look at processes I want to, like 'fw_worke'r. On each gateways I have simple bash script running every 10sec which parses top results and post them to influxDB. Then I use Grafana to build CPU load diagrams, see here

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2006-10-25
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: SmartView Monitor Incorrect Average CPU

    Quote Originally Posted by Edu_web View Post
    Hi,

    I have a distributed environment with 2 Security Managements and 2 Gateways operating in cluster load sharing. All running Gaia R77.20 (OpenServer).

    These servers have 16 cpu cores, but my checkpoint licenses only allow the use of 4 cores.

    The problem is that SmartView Monitor is showing in the "Average CPU" column a value that corresponds to the use of all the cores that exist on the hardware server (16 CPUs), not the 4 cores licensed.

    Sample:

    SmartView Monitor shows a AVG CPU load of 13%.
    TOP command on CLI shows 16 cores, but only 4 are working with 52% load each one.

    Based on TOP, the average load is 52% (208 total divided by 4 CPUs)
    SmartView Monitor is showing 13% (208 / 16) when the correct should be 52%.

    How can I solve it on SmartView Monitor to it show me AVG CPU load based only on licensed CPU cores?

    Thanks in advance for help.

    CPView might be a good option for this as well.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2006-03-08
    Location
    Lausanne
    Posts
    937
    Rep Power
    12

    Default Re: SmartView Monitor Incorrect Average CPU

    SmartViewMonitor show average CPU usage for all cores and only that. If 4 out of 15 cores are running 50%, the average is equal to 4*50/16=12.5%.

    This is one of the classic issues about deriving performance figures from SmartViewMonitor.
    -------------

    Valeri Loukine
    CCMA, CCSM, CCSI
    http://checkpoint-master-architect.blogspot.com/

Similar Threads

  1. Bug in SmartView Monitor?
    By amani in forum SmartView Monitor
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-11-24, 09:21
  2. WHY both SmartView Monitor AND SmartView Tracker?
    By AllanKjśr in forum CCSA NGX R65 Exam 156-215.65
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-10-20, 09:57
  3. Smartview Monitor
    By lbraid in forum Check Point IP Appliances and IPSO (Formerly Sold By Nokia)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-07-10, 22:12
  4. Smartview Monitor
    By maurox in forum Licensing
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-06-25, 08:47
  5. Time in SmartView Tracker incorrect
    By kaojo in forum SmartView Tracker
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-11-16, 03:58

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •