CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


** Announcing the #CPUGchallenge **

I'm very happy to announce that CPUG will be hosting "The CPUG Challenge" during CPX this year.
It promises to be a fun and interesting event that will test (and maybe even expand) your knowledge of Check Point.
Whether or not you plan to attend CPX, we have something for you. Please check out this post or the CPUGchallenge.com web site for more information. -E

 

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: DMS Migration issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2016-07-30
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0

    Default DMS Migration issue

    Hi all,

    after have migrated a couple of DMSs to another MDS without any problem, today I had an issue.

    After importing the configuration in the new DMS, the process was stopped and the object disappeared from the Smartdomain Manager. Through the Clish the DMS is there but in the Smartdoamin manager cannot be see.
    When trying to remove the complete domain, the DMS remains so you cannot create an object with the same name or same IP.

    Any suggestion? Help please.

    Thank you.
    Last edited by skathack; 2017-03-10 at 13:56.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2008-07-31
    Location
    Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    1,063
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: DMS Migration issue

    There is a customers file, check if the domain is still mentioned in there, if so remove the section there, now go to the customers directory and make sure the directory is gone. When these 2 steps are done and you still have problems creating the domain again, search for the DMS cache files clearing SK and execute those steps.
    If you need the above in more details, file location, dir location, I will have to check.

    I just finished moving 140 domains from 4 different sources, into a new 3 MDS setup, including 2 VSX environments. I ran into similar problems a couple of times.
    Regards, Maarten.
    Dual P1 R77.30, VSX, IPSO, SPLAT, GAIA mostly.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2016-07-30
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: DMS Migration issue

    Quote Originally Posted by msjouw View Post
    There is a customers file, check if the domain is still mentioned in there, if so remove the section there, now go to the customers directory and make sure the directory is gone. When these 2 steps are done and you still have problems creating the domain again, search for the DMS cache files clearing SK and execute those steps.
    If you need the above in more details, file location, dir location, I will have to check.

    I just finished moving 140 domains from 4 different sources, into a new 3 MDS setup, including 2 VSX environments. I ran into similar problems a couple of times.

    Hi Marten,
    thank you for the info.

    The file is customers.C files from the $MDSDIR/conf/mdsdb? I found the sk34446 where there are some other files to edit (applications.C, objects_5_0.C). It is something like you did?
    Please if possible provide me more details and file, dir location.

    Many many thanks.

    Bye.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2008-07-31
    Location
    Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    1,063
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: DMS Migration issue

    cache files removal:
    mdsstop -m
    mkdir -v /var/log/GUI_cache_bkp_MDS
    mv $MDSDIR/conf/mdsdb/CPMILinksMgr.db* /var/log/GUI_cache_bkp_MDS
    mdsstart -m

    wait 5 to 10 minutes for rebuild, depending on the number of domains etc.

    When you do a mdsstat on the MDS is the CMA still there and the files as you mentioned from SK34446 do not contain anything related to the CMA anymore check to see if the dir where the customer info is stored, with the name of the CMA, is in
    /opt/CPmds-R77/customers/
    When it is still there you can safely remove it.
    Regards, Maarten.
    Dual P1 R77.30, VSX, IPSO, SPLAT, GAIA mostly.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2013-09-25
    Location
    Bucharest
    Posts
    544
    Rep Power
    4

    Default Re: DMS Migration issue

    Please apologize my question: what's a DMS?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2008-07-31
    Location
    Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    1,063
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: DMS Migration issue

    Domain Management Server?
    Regards, Maarten.
    Dual P1 R77.30, VSX, IPSO, SPLAT, GAIA mostly.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    2016-07-30
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: DMS Migration issue

    Quote Originally Posted by laf_c View Post
    Please apologize my question: what's a DMS?
    As Marten says Domain Management Server new Check Point nomenclature for a CMA.

    Bye

  8. #8
    Join Date
    2016-07-30
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: DMS Migration issue

    Quote Originally Posted by msjouw View Post
    cache files removal:
    mdsstop -m
    mkdir -v /var/log/GUI_cache_bkp_MDS
    mv $MDSDIR/conf/mdsdb/CPMILinksMgr.db* /var/log/GUI_cache_bkp_MDS
    mdsstart -m

    wait 5 to 10 minutes for rebuild, depending on the number of domains etc.

    When you do a mdsstat on the MDS is the CMA still there and the files as you mentioned from SK34446 do not contain anything related to the CMA anymore check to see if the dir where the customer info is stored, with the name of the CMA, is in
    /opt/CPmds-R77/customers/
    When it is still there you can safely remove it.
    Hi Marten,
    I'm sharing what I didi for future reference. I tested this solution in my LAB in a couple of days I will follow the same procedure in the production enviroment.
    Any of these files: applications.C, objects_5_0.C and customers.C contained some references to that DMS, via Clish I used the command mdsremove_customer "customer's name". The DMS has been deleted succesully and it disappeard also by clish and the customer folder has been deleted automaticaaly. After that I was able to recreate the Domain and the DMS with the same name with no issue.

    Bye

Similar Threads

  1. UTM-1 Migration
    By sleepytom in forum Check Point UTM-1 Appliances
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-11-08, 05:31
  2. NGx R65 HF_25 to NGx R70.20 CMA migration issue. need help
    By cciesec2006 in forum Installing And Upgrading
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2010-03-02, 10:26
  3. Migration R55 to R65
    By elo93 in forum Installing And Upgrading
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-03-14, 20:07
  4. ISA to CP migration
    By *tomo* in forum Authentication
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-09-21, 20:09
  5. Migration to new hardware - Issue
    By iamwiz82 in forum Installing And Upgrading
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 2007-06-28, 07:12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •