CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


I'd like to thank everyone involved for making "The CPUG Challenge" a great success.
We helped a lot of people see and learn a bit more about R80.10, while having some fun.
We will be using this success to try and bring more events to more locations soon. -E

 

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 730 Appliances managed by SmartCenter?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2017-02-09
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default 730 Appliances managed by SmartCenter?

    Hi,

    just a quick question: Is it possible to manage 730 Appliances through Smart Center? I installed Windows Server 2008 R8, SMS, SMP R12.11. SIC is also already initialized, im getting logs from this box, but i'm unable to install any policy.

    THX in advance

    cheers/badbyte

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2009-04-30
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    1,955
    Rep Power
    11

    Default Re: 730 Appliances managed by SmartCenter?

    Quote Originally Posted by badbyte View Post
    Hi,

    just a quick question: Is it possible to manage 730 Appliances through Smart Center? I installed Windows Server 2008 R8, SMS, SMP R12.11. SIC is also already initialized, im getting logs from this box, but i'm unable to install any policy.

    THX in advance

    cheers/badbyte
    Not familiar with the 700 series specifically, but as the replacement for the 600 series which could not be centrally managed by a SMS I'm pretty sure the answer is no.
    --
    My book "Max Power: Check Point Firewall Performance Optimization"
    now available via http://maxpowerfirewalls.com.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2014-06-18
    Location
    Kiel
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: 730 Appliances managed by SmartCenter?

    If you compare the specifications of the 700 appliances to these of the 1400 appliances you will see that there are only some little differences in the description of interfaces between the two types of appliances. But for 1400 it is stated: "Central Management Model / Enterprise Security Management". For 700 there are 2 options specified: "web-based local management interface" and Check Point's "Cloud-Managed Security Services".

    If you want to use 1400 appliances running R77.20 with central management you need the Management Add-On. For R77.30 it is specified in sk105412.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2016-09-13
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    53
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: 730 Appliances managed by SmartCenter?

    Cannot centrally manage 700 Series like 1400s.
    They are managed by SMP sk112233. Build one SMP server for my company.

    Thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2017-03-08
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: 730 Appliances managed by SmartCenter?

    Indeed, some Gaia Embedded appliances are not meant to be managed by SMS (SmartCenter).

    The 1100, 1200R and 1400 series appliances are capable of being centrally managed via SmartCenter.
    The 600 and 700 series can either be locally managed, or managed via the SMP (Cloud or on-premise).

    I understand from your question that you did install the SMP, but tried to push policy via the SmartDashboard. It's important to understand that the SMP leverages some of the SmartCenter infrastructure behind the scenes (mainly for SIC and logging). That is why it is installed.
    However, the policy cannot be pushed from it, because SMP managed gateways control their policy in a different way.

    On a side note, we are working on support for managing the security rulebase from the SMP UI. We plan to include this in the next SMP release (R12.30).
    If you'd like to experiment with this, we also have it running on an alpha server in the cloud, so let me know and we can grant access.

    Regards,
    Tomer

    Director of SMB and Device Operations

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2017-02-09
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: 730 Appliances managed by SmartCenter?

    Hi Tomer,

    would be great if you can grant access, that i can test this a little bit.
    Is this an official EA?

    Cheers/Gerry

  7. #7
    Join Date
    2005-08-14
    Location
    Gig Harbor, WA, USA
    Posts
    2,252
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Re: 730 Appliances managed by SmartCenter?

    This may not be a "public" EA (e.g. listed in UserCenter), but I would believe Tomer if he says it exists. :)
    Please send your contact details to either Tomer or myself in a PM.
    http://phoneboy.com
    Unless otherwise noted, views expressed are my own

  8. #8
    Join Date
    2016-09-13
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    53
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: 730 Appliances managed by SmartCenter?

    Quote Originally Posted by noytomer View Post
    Indeed, some Gaia Embedded appliances are not meant to be managed by SMS (SmartCenter).

    The 1100, 1200R and 1400 series appliances are capable of being centrally managed via SmartCenter.
    The 600 and 700 series can either be locally managed, or managed via the SMP (Cloud or on-premise).

    I understand from your question that you did install the SMP, but tried to push policy via the SmartDashboard. It's important to understand that the SMP leverages some of the SmartCenter infrastructure behind the scenes (mainly for SIC and logging). That is why it is installed.
    However, the policy cannot be pushed from it, because SMP managed gateways control their policy in a different way.

    On a side note, we are working on support for managing the security rulebase from the SMP UI. We plan to include this in the next SMP release (R12.30).
    If you'd like to experiment with this, we also have it running on an alpha server in the cloud, so let me know and we can grant access.

    Regards,
    Tomer

    Director of SMB and Device Operations
    >>> On a side note, we are working on support for managing the security rulebase from the SMP UI. We plan to include this in the next SMP release (R12.30).
    When GA will be released?

    Chances for this end of month?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    2017-02-09
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: 730 Appliances managed by SmartCenter?

    another question: i'am always loosing the connection to the appliances. Is it possible that the internet connectivy is too slow? Most of the time there is a delay of ~20 ms, only a few times a day it is more. It's a real PITA... Is anybody aware of that kind of problems?

    Cheers/Gerry

Similar Threads

  1. bad behavior VPN between 2 gateway managed by the same smartcenter
    By G-unit in forum IPsec VPN Blade (Virtual Private Networks)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2012-01-10, 19:47
  2. To Managed Mode
    By Ax_Zisto in forum Check Point UTM-1 Edge Appliances
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-01-24, 10:25
  3. Could connectra r66 be managed by smartcenter ver65 ?
    By shmilyh in forum Mobile Access Blade (Formerly Connectra)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-06-29, 15:17
  4. SNX and Managed PKI - I'll pay $20 if you get it working
    By Scrif in forum SNX - SSL Network Extender
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-02-16, 19:53
  5. can R55 be well managed by Smartcenter R65?
    By ccnpding in forum Installing And Upgrading
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-05-20, 10:06

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •