CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


First, I hope you're all well and staying safe.
Second, I want to give a "heads up" that you should see more activity here shortly, and maybe a few cosmetic changes.
I'll post more details to the "Announcements" forum soon, so be on the lookout. -E

 

Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: issues with snapshot in R77.30

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2006-09-26
    Posts
    3,200
    Rep Power
    19

    Default issues with snapshot in R77.30

    Hi folks,

    something wrong with snapshot utility? I have a Dell R720 running R77.30 with HFA_205 as a stand-alone log server.

    When I run the command "show snapshots", it supposes to show me all the snaphots that I've been taking so far but it does NOT. See below

    [Expert@fwlog:0]# installed_jumbo_take
    R77.30 Jumbo Hotfix Accumulator take_205 is installed, see sk106162.
    [Expert@fwlog:0]#
    fwlog> show snapshots
    Creation of an additional restore point will need 12.768G
    Amount of space available for restore points is 2532.91G
    fwlog>

    fwlog> show snapshot

    fwlog_HFA_205 fwlog_HFA_185 fwlog_HFA_178 fwlog_HFA_159
    fwlog> show snapshot fwlog_HFA_

    Has anyone seen this before? New bugs :-(

    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2014-06-23
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: issues with snapshot in R77.30

    Good Afternoon,

    There is something wrong with the snapshot utility? I have an R77.30 VMware cluster with Take 204.

    When using the WebUI Maintenance Utility to create a snapshot, it shows under the Snapshot Management window that the available space is FREE;
    but under STATISTICS it show's "Creation of an additional image will require 6.240G
    amount of space available for images is 0.02G.

    df -h show that I have 100G available
    Also export is greyed out.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2007-03-30
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    417
    Rep Power
    16

    Default Re: issues with snapshot in R77.30

    The space Gaia uses for snapshots doesn't show up in 'df'. I'm betting somebody has handed all of the space on the disk to lv_current, leaving no space for snapshots. You can check this with the command 'lvm_manager'. It should show a large amount of unallocated space, but I bet on your system it doesn't.

    For a more technical discussion, Gaia uses a Linux tool called LVM for managing "partitions" (actually volumes) and for taking snapshots. The disks in a box are all given to an LVM volume group named vg_splat:

    Code:
    [Expert@DallasSA]# pvscan
      PV /dev/sda3   VG vg_splat        lvm2 [356.69 GiB / 255.69 GiB free]
      Total: 1 [356.69 GiB] / in use: 1 [356.69 GiB] / in no VG: 0 [0   ]
    
    [Expert@DallasSA]# vgs
      VG       #PV #LV #SN Attr   VSize   VFree
      vg_splat   1   4   0 wz--n- 356.69g 255.69g
    
    [Expert@DallasSA]# vgdisplay
      --- Volume group ---
      VG Name               vg_splat
      System ID
      Format                lvm2
      Metadata Areas        1
      Metadata Sequence No  15
      VG Access             read/write
      VG Status             resizable
      MAX LV                0
      Cur LV                4
      Open LV               2
      Max PV                0
      Cur PV                1
      Act PV                1
      VG Size               356.69 GiB
      PE Size               32.00 MiB
      Total PE              11414
      Alloc PE / Size       3232 / 101.00 GiB
      Free  PE / Size       8182 / 255.69 GiB
      VG UUID               55Qy6m-0Euw-7OlF-X33e-SIjB-SiB5-XHGAtx
    
    [Expert@DallasSA]# lvs
      LV          VG       Attr       LSize  Pool Origin Data%  Meta%  Move Log Cpy%Sync Convert
      hwdiag      vg_splat -wi-a-----  1.00g
      lv_current  vg_splat -wi-ao---- 32.00g
      lv_fcd_GAIA vg_splat -wi-a-----  8.00g
      lv_log      vg_splat -wi-ao---- 60.00g
    This machine has a 400 GB SSD and is running R81. I think the volume sizes are all default, but I may have increased the space given to lv_current.

    When you take a snapshot, here's what happens:

    Code:
    [Expert@DallasSA]# clish
    
    DallasSA> add snapshot TestSnap
    Taking snapshot. You can continue working normally.
    You can use the command 'show snapshots' to monitor creation progress.
    
    DallasSA> exit
    
    [Expert@DallasSA]# lvs
      LV              VG       Attr       LSize  Pool Origin     Data%  Meta%  Move Log Cpy%Sync Convert
      hwdiag          vg_splat -wi-a-----  1.00g
      lv_TestSnap     vg_splat -wi-ao---- 17.31g
      lv_current      vg_splat owi-aos--- 32.00g
      lv_current_snap vg_splat swi-aos--- 29.00g      lv_current 0.01
      lv_fcd_GAIA     vg_splat -wi-a-----  8.00g
      lv_log          vg_splat -wi-ao---- 60.00g
    
    [Expert@DallasSA]# vgs
      VG       #PV #LV #SN Attr   VSize   VFree
      vg_splat   1   6   1 wz--n- 356.69g 209.38g
    
    ### Some time later... ###
    
    [Expert@DallasSA]# lvs
      LV          VG       Attr       LSize  Pool Origin Data%  Meta%  Move Log Cpy%Sync Convert
      hwdiag      vg_splat -wi-a-----  1.00g
      lv_TestSnap vg_splat -wi-a----- 17.31g
      lv_current  vg_splat -wi-ao---- 32.00g
      lv_fcd_GAIA vg_splat -wi-a-----  8.00g
      lv_log      vg_splat -wi-ao---- 60.00g
    
    [Expert@DallasSA]# vgs
      VG       #PV #LV #SN Attr   VSize   VFree
      vg_splat   1   5   0 wz--n- 356.69g 238.38g
    It makes two new logical volumes. lv_current_snap is a snapshot of lv_current, then lv_TestSnap. Note that the VFree number in lv_splat drops from 255.69 GB earlier to 209.38 GB, a decrease of 46.31 GB. That's because it allocated 29 GB to lv_current_snap and 17.31 GB to lv_TestSnap. If I had less than 46 GB available, it wouldn't be able to take a snapshot, even though the end state of the snapshot only consumes 17.31 GB when it's done.

Similar Threads

  1. Regarding Snapshot location
    By vijay_vya in forum Check Point Backup Procedures
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-03-01, 03:37
  2. Snapshot Backup
    By joeone in forum Check Point Backup Procedures
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-08-23, 06:32
  3. Rulebase snapshot
    By sridharraj80 in forum Eventia Analyzer/Reporter/SmartView Reporter
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2007-06-06, 10:50
  4. Desktop Security/Policy Server logon failure issues issues
    By Clon32 in forum SecureClient/SecuRemote
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-10-25, 06:32
  5. Snapshot
    By 1q2w3e in forum Check Point SecurePlatform (SPLAT)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-02-26, 06:34

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •