CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it again! He has just released the 2nd edition of "Max Power".
Rather than get into details here, I urge you to check out this announcement post.
It's a massive upgrade, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Authentication with Radius

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2016-05-02
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Authentication with Radius

    Guys,
    I have a question regarding the operation of the external authentication to manage Gaia.

    There is an authentication profile in which I can mix types of authentication? ie first look authenticate with Radius, if the Radius server is out of service seeking authenticate locally with the same account login.

    What if I have an account "admin" in a radius and locally there is also an account "admin", how would act this authentication process?

    Thanks for your help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2016-01-25
    Posts
    19
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Authentication with Radius

    I don't think so, additionally you can only specify a single radius server, not a stack. In our environment admins log in with their radius account unless there is a DR situation and then use an emergency local admin account.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2006-09-26
    Posts
    3,193
    Rep Power
    16

    Default Re: Authentication with Radius

    Quote Originally Posted by davidson View Post
    I don't think so, additionally you can only specify a single radius server, not a stack. In our environment admins log in with their radius account unless there is a DR situation and then use an emergency local admin account.
    You can assign multiple radius servers not just single radius server:

    add aaa radius-servers priority 0 host 192.168.1.1 port 1812 secret ***** timeout 3
    add aaa radius-servers priority 1 host 192.168.1.2 port 1812 secret ***** timeout 3

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2006-03-19
    Location
    Northern Ohio
    Posts
    1,386
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: Authentication with Radius

    Quote Originally Posted by davidson View Post
    ... In our environment admins log in with their radius account unless there is a DR situation and then use an emergency local admin account.
    Likewise. We're using RSA SecurID via Radius for the Gaia logins.

    Ray

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2016-01-25
    Posts
    19
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Authentication with Radius

    Quote Originally Posted by cciesec2006 View Post
    You can assign multiple radius servers not just single radius server:

    add aaa radius-servers priority 0 host 192.168.1.1 port 1812 secret ***** timeout 3
    add aaa radius-servers priority 1 host 192.168.1.2 port 1812 secret ***** timeout 3
    Sorry, you're correct. I was thinking of the Smart-1 authentication.

Similar Threads

  1. Radius IAS, MS CA and MS AD authentication
    By borek in forum Authentication
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-11-08, 17:50
  2. Radius authentication to OS
    By Chris Hammond in forum Authentication
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-08-15, 15:27
  3. RADIUS authentication help
    By darkid in forum Authentication
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-09-23, 23:54
  4. RADIUS authentication R62
    By dondma in forum Authentication
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-01-12, 17:25
  5. Problems with Radius Authentication !
    By thanhdt in forum Authentication
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-08-10, 22:42

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •