CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it again! He has just released the 2nd edition of "Max Power".
Rather than get into details here, I urge you to check out this announcement post.
It's a massive upgrade, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Can I run standalone mode on Checkpoint Appliance with HA License?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2016-06-11
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Can I run standalone mode on Checkpoint Appliance with HA License?

    Dear All,

    I have a concern about Checkpoint license. I bought two Checkpoint devices with HA license, but now I want to separate both devices to different location. Anyone could tell me that can I run a standalone mode on secondary Checkpoint with HA license without cluster mode?

    Regards,
    Phaneath

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2013-09-25
    Location
    Bucharest
    Posts
    649
    Rep Power
    5

    Default Re: Can I run standalone mode on Checkpoint Appliance with HA License?

    Looking on the price paid for the 2nd unit I would say no. Still your sales representative would know this for sure.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2007-06-04
    Posts
    3,267
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: Can I run standalone mode on Checkpoint Appliance with HA License?

    The license requires that the HA Unit is run as part of a Cluster.

    If it isn't then you will get error about it not being part of a Cluster and it doesn't work properly.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2006-09-26
    Posts
    3,121
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: Can I run standalone mode on Checkpoint Appliance with HA License?

    Quote Originally Posted by mcnallym View Post
    The license requires that the HA Unit is run as part of a Cluster.

    If it isn't then you will get error about it not being part of a Cluster and it doesn't work properly.
    Just pay an extra 20% to get the HA license to be a stand alone license. That's the last time I heard from a Checkpoint SE like 4 years ago.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2016-06-11
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Can I run standalone mode on Checkpoint Appliance with HA License?

    Quote Originally Posted by laf_c View Post
    Looking on the price paid for the 2nd unit I would say no. Still your sales representative would know this for sure.
    Thanks you for your reply.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2016-06-11
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Can I run standalone mode on Checkpoint Appliance with HA License?

    Quote Originally Posted by mcnallym View Post
    The license requires that the HA Unit is run as part of a Cluster.

    If it isn't then you will get error about it not being part of a Cluster and it doesn't work properly.
    Thanks you for your reply.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    2006-03-08
    Location
    Lausanne
    Posts
    1,028
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Re: Can I run standalone mode on Checkpoint Appliance with HA License?

    No, you cannot. I has to be part of the cluster.
    -------------

    Valeri Loukine
    CCMA, CCSM, CCSI
    http://checkpoint-master-architect.blogspot.com/

Similar Threads

  1. Build Standalone Full HA using existing appliance/database
    By bilevans in forum Clustering (Security Gateway HA and ClusterXL)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2015-03-11, 10:08
  2. Removing Mgmt module from Standalone mode
    By prashanth83 in forum Security Management Server (Formerly SmartCenter Server ((Formerly Management Server))
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2014-03-12, 04:42
  3. change Standalone mode to distributed mode, "cpconfig"
    By manuadoor in forum Check Point IP Appliances and IPSO (Formerly Sold By Nokia)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2010-04-20, 05:52
  4. License query for NGAI R55 Standalone on Nokia
    By sachden in forum Licensing
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-08-23, 18:12
  5. Necessity of installing Standalone due to license?
    By Yasushi Kono in forum Licensing
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 2007-02-02, 17:59

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •