CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


 

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: AV Blade vs. Traditional AV

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2005-10-12
    Posts
    448
    Rep Power
    12

    Default AV Blade vs. Traditional AV

    Hi,

    I am wondering is there a document mentioning the difference between the two AV engines. I have read in the documentation that we cannot use both the engines together. So is there any specific functionality for which we might want to use the traditional AV engine over the AV blade. Does the traditional AV engines comes default with the gateway as there is no blade or licensing for the same.

    I am not sure if this is true that the traditional AV engine supports all the protocols for scanning as compared to the AV blade.

    Any insights on the same would be great.

    Regards

    Sebastan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2012-08-16
    Posts
    151
    Rep Power
    5

    Default Re: AV Blade vs. Traditional AV

    I asked a similar question awhile back. But, it will scan on http/any port, smtp, and https if you have inspection enabled.

    https://www.cpug.org/forums/showthre...nal-Anti-Virus

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2005-10-12
    Posts
    448
    Rep Power
    12

    Default Re: AV Blade vs. Traditional AV

    Thanks for your response mate.

    Looks like I would have to switch it to traditional AV for having support for FTP. For traditional AV do we still need to buy the AV blade or the traditional AV is part of the standard licenses with the gateway.

    Regards

    Sebastan

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2005-10-12
    Posts
    448
    Rep Power
    12

    Default Re: AV Blade vs. Traditional AV

    Quote Originally Posted by aweldon View Post
    I asked a similar question awhile back. But, it will scan on http/any port, smtp, and https if you have inspection enabled.

    https://www.cpug.org/forums/showthre...nal-Anti-Virus
    Hey,

    Just a correction I received from a check point SE is that SMB scanning is supported with AV blade but unfortunately there is no option to set any configurations for that. But its enabled by default. For FTP there's a patch that is required for enabling the AV scanning for FTP. Only AV scanning for POP3 & IMAP are not supported.

    Regards

    Sebastan

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2012-08-16
    Posts
    151
    Rep Power
    5

    Default Re: AV Blade vs. Traditional AV

    Interesting, thanks for the update on that.

Similar Threads

  1. Record in Blade Price for DLP Blade $12000 ~ $12.500 SG401 Container
    By serlud in forum Data Loss Prevention Blade (DLP))
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2010-04-20, 19:00
  2. Mixing blade/non blade licensing?
    By ChadB in forum Licensing
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-04-06, 11:36
  3. VPN through Traditional mode configuration
    By venkatraman5 in forum IPsec VPN Blade (Virtual Private Networks)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2007-06-20, 10:42
  4. Last question on traditional VPN's then i am outta here ;)
    By philofish in forum IPsec VPN Blade (Virtual Private Networks)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-02-26, 16:36
  5. VPN traditional mode
    By EElav in forum IPsec VPN Blade (Virtual Private Networks)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-09-11, 16:33

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •