CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


First, I hope you're all well and staying safe.
Second, I want to give a "heads up" that you should see more activity here shortly, and maybe a few cosmetic changes.
I'll post more details to the "Announcements" forum soon, so be on the lookout. -E

 

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: switch from ClusterXL setting to VSLS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2008-07-31
    Location
    Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    1,147
    Rep Power
    16

    Default switch from ClusterXL setting to VSLS

    Hi, We run several VSX clusters and most have been setup correctly from scratch with VSLS, however I have 1 customer, where the cluster was not created with VSLS.
    Now we want to change this, would it suffice to just change the cpconfig setting or is there a change in the dashboard needed as well? Or maybe a vsx_util command?

    I can't imagine there is nothing that needs to be changed on the management level as during creation you need to choose between VSLS or standard ClusterXL.

    Anyone has a clou or been there done that?
    Regards, Maarten.
    Triple MDS on R77.30, MDS on R80.10, VSX, GAIA.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2007-06-04
    Posts
    3,314
    Rep Power
    20

    Default Re: switch from ClusterXL setting to VSLS

    Done it on an R77.20 where converted from VSLS to HA for some troubleshooting and then converted back.



    From the Admin Guide which is what I followed and seemed to go OK.

    Converting from High Availability to VSLS

    To convert an existing High Availability cluster to VSLS Load Sharing:
    1. Close SmartDashboard.
    2. On each member:
    a) Run cpconfig
    b) Enable the Per Virtual System State.
    c) Enable ClusterXL for Bridge Active/Standby.
    3. Restart the members: cpstop and cpstart

    4. On the management server, enter Expert mode.
    5. Run: vsx_util convert_cluster
    6. Enter the Security Management Server or Multi-Domain Security Management Domain Management Server IP address.
    7. Enter the administrator user name and password.
    8. Enter the VSX cluster name.
    9. Enter: LS
    10. At the "Proceed with conversion?" prompt, enter: y
    11. Select an option to distribute Virtual Systems among members:
    a) Distribute all Virtual Systems equally.
    b) Set all Virtual Systems as Active on the same member.

    Note - You cannot convert a VSX cluster to the VSLS mode if it contains Virtual Systems in the Active/Active Bridge mode or Virtual Routers

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2008-07-31
    Location
    Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    1,147
    Rep Power
    16

    Default Re: switch from ClusterXL setting to VSLS

    See, i was looking for it on the CP site, there was no document describing this to be found with any of the search terms I could find...

    And the vsx_util command was the one I expected and did not find , did not dig deep enough though I must admit.

    Thanks a lot for this one.
    Regards, Maarten.
    Triple MDS on R77.30, MDS on R80.10, VSX, GAIA.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2011-08-02
    Location
    http://spikefishsolutions.com
    Posts
    1,668
    Rep Power
    13

    Default Re: switch from ClusterXL setting to VSLS

    Quote Originally Posted by mcnallym View Post
    Note - You cannot convert a VSX cluster to the VSLS mode if it contains Virtual Systems in the Active/Active Bridge mode or Virtual Routers
    Can you expand on this last note? Not worried about the active/active bridge.. just wondering on the VR.

    I remember hearing that a long time ago and asking local VSX experts and they didn't know what I was talking about.

    Is it only not supported for a conversion or is it a VR isn't compatible with VSLS in any state?


    Thanks and i'll take my answer off the air.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2006-04-27
    Location
    Twillight zone
    Posts
    1,010
    Rep Power
    18

    Default Re: switch from ClusterXL setting to VSLS

    from sk100500

    Notes:

    Virtual Router is not compatible with VSLS.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2011-08-02
    Location
    http://spikefishsolutions.com
    Posts
    1,668
    Rep Power
    13

    Default Re: switch from ClusterXL setting to VSLS

    Quote Originally Posted by abusharif View Post
    from sk100500
    seems like an odd place to document that. Anyway my memory was jogged. For some reason I was thinking a virtual switch was required for vsls (which was wrong). Anyway nothing to see here. :)
    Last edited by jflemingeds; 2016-05-29 at 12:57.

Similar Threads

  1. clusterXL switch each other frequently
    By erniehong in forum Check Point SecurePlatform (SPLAT)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2013-01-10, 14:33
  2. VSLS in production
    By CBN_IN_NZ in forum VPN-1 VSX
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-07-08, 20:53
  3. VSLS Failback
    By chillyjim in forum VPN-1 VSX
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-04-04, 14:51
  4. Switch/Router config - ClusterXL R65 Load Sharing Multicast
    By bytor in forum Clustering (Security Gateway HA and ClusterXL)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-07-15, 02:44
  5. Need help setting up mail with ClusterXL and ISP Load Balancing
    By ppayne in forum Clustering (Security Gateway HA and ClusterXL)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-11-12, 11:40

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •