CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.

Thread: Checkpoint for Cisco guys

Default Checkpoint for Cisco guys

Checkpoint for Cisco guys

Hi folks,

I'm pretty new to the Chekpoint FWs but I have lot of years in administrating and troubleshooting the Cisco boxes.

At the moment I have 10-12 Checkpoint boxes, whose configuration has been built up by many people over the years, and I aim at analysising their configuration to check if indeed they reflect just the needs of the business or may maybe they allow more than what's needed.
    Also I'd like to check if the settings are aligned across all the boxes and to foresee problems due to incorrect settings across such boxes

As to the underneath OS it's Linux and more or less I know where to get the info I need (and of course in text format) but for the policies and the stricly related stuff to the CP FW I don't see a way to get the settings in clear text. I also dag in dbedit but no way to get a list of the current settings, only to create,modify and delete objects.

At the moment I'm especially interested at the NAT rules (getting manual and automatic ones) and VPNs (IP peers, algorithms, etc etc).

Could somebody point me in the right direction?

Thanks a lot in advance,

Axllxa

Default Re: Checkpoint for Cisco guys

I don't think you ll be able to get what you need in a readable logic format. I mean there's no show run nat command . Not to mention CP and ASA differ the way rules are "getting the traffic".

I was in your shoes about two years ago and I just built a new vision, pretty different of what ASA firewalling does and behave.

You won't get this information from the Gateways themselves.

All the info you want is within the SmartDashboard policy. You will want to connect to the Security Management Server with the SmartDashboard GUI Client, and you will find the information you wan therein.

In the firewall tab, there is a NAT section.