CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


First, I hope you're all well and staying safe.
Second, I want to give a "heads up" that you should see more activity here shortly, and maybe a few cosmetic changes.
I'll post more details to the "Announcements" forum soon, so be on the lookout. -E

 

Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: UTM Edge X - VPN Issue - can not ping a client (or any other service) by remote.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2010-06-20
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    0

    Default UTM Edge X - VPN Issue - can not ping a client (or any other service) by remote.

    Hi,

    I have a strange Situation with one UTM1 Edge x @ 8.2.64x
    Followin Configuration:

    Client A Adress 192.168.0.111
    Client B Adress 192.168.0.222

    If I ping my .222 in LAN everything works fine, even the UTM tool can ping it.
    If I try a ping remote Computer by VPN (office mode) I can ping .111 but not .222

    I changed the client IP .111 to .222 and reverse .222 to .111 - then I can ping 222 but not 111
    Confused...
    Changed the LAN ports - no success

    Never had this before.
    Any hints?
    No rules or anything special are defined for .222
    The only thing I didn't try is to reset to factory defaults...

    Thx a lot for your idea...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2009-04-30
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    2,252
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: UTM Edge X - VPN Issue - can not ping a client (or any other service) by remote.

    Quote Originally Posted by henniee View Post
    Hi,

    I have a strange Situation with one UTM1 Edge x @ 8.2.64x
    Followin Configuration:

    Client A Adress 192.168.0.111
    Client B Adress 192.168.0.222

    If I ping my .222 in LAN everything works fine, even the UTM tool can ping it.
    If I try a ping remote Computer by VPN (office mode) I can ping .111 but not .222

    I changed the client IP .111 to .222 and reverse .222 to .111 - then I can ping 222 but not 111
    Confused...
    Changed the LAN ports - no success

    Never had this before.
    Any hints?
    No rules or anything special are defined for .222
    The only thing I didn't try is to reset to factory defaults...

    Thx a lot for your idea...
    Are client A and client B two physically separate systems or 2 Virtual Machines on a single physical system? Any chance the two clients have the same MAC address?

    Do both clients and the Edge have a /24 mask (or at least the same mask) set?
    --
    Third Edition of my "Max Power 2020" Firewall Book
    Now Available at http://www.maxpowerfirewalls.com

Similar Threads

  1. What Secure Remote client can be used on Win10 with UTM-1 Edge?
    By roveer in forum Check Point UTM-1 Appliances
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2015-12-30, 11:38
  2. No 64 bit secure remote client available for pre 8.1.x Edge clients?
    By roveer in forum Versions Of Firewall-1/VPN-1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-04-23, 07:49
  3. issue accessing remote office mode client from LAN
    By lucid in forum SecureClient/SecuRemote
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-07-09, 00:05
  4. UTM-1 Edge X remote-access community issue
    By skdreams in forum Check Point UTM-1 Edge Appliances
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-08-24, 02:09
  5. VPN-1 Edge in Remote Access Client Mode - No idea how to configure
    By jimbul in forum Check Point UTM-1 Edge Appliances
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-08-21, 12:27

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •