CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it again! He has just released the 2nd edition of "Max Power".
Rather than get into details here, I urge you to check out this announcement post.
It's a massive upgrade, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: UTM Edge X - VPN Issue - can not ping a client (or any other service) by remote.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2010-06-20
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    0

    Default UTM Edge X - VPN Issue - can not ping a client (or any other service) by remote.

    Hi,

    I have a strange Situation with one UTM1 Edge x @ 8.2.64x
    Followin Configuration:

    Client A Adress 192.168.0.111
    Client B Adress 192.168.0.222

    If I ping my .222 in LAN everything works fine, even the UTM tool can ping it.
    If I try a ping remote Computer by VPN (office mode) I can ping .111 but not .222

    I changed the client IP .111 to .222 and reverse .222 to .111 - then I can ping 222 but not 111
    Confused...
    Changed the LAN ports - no success

    Never had this before.
    Any hints?
    No rules or anything special are defined for .222
    The only thing I didn't try is to reset to factory defaults...

    Thx a lot for your idea...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2009-04-30
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    2,248
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Re: UTM Edge X - VPN Issue - can not ping a client (or any other service) by remote.

    Quote Originally Posted by henniee View Post
    Hi,

    I have a strange Situation with one UTM1 Edge x @ 8.2.64x
    Followin Configuration:

    Client A Adress 192.168.0.111
    Client B Adress 192.168.0.222

    If I ping my .222 in LAN everything works fine, even the UTM tool can ping it.
    If I try a ping remote Computer by VPN (office mode) I can ping .111 but not .222

    I changed the client IP .111 to .222 and reverse .222 to .111 - then I can ping 222 but not 111
    Confused...
    Changed the LAN ports - no success

    Never had this before.
    Any hints?
    No rules or anything special are defined for .222
    The only thing I didn't try is to reset to factory defaults...

    Thx a lot for your idea...
    Are client A and client B two physically separate systems or 2 Virtual Machines on a single physical system? Any chance the two clients have the same MAC address?

    Do both clients and the Edge have a /24 mask (or at least the same mask) set?
    --
    Second Edition of my "Max Power" Firewall Book
    Now Available at http://www.maxpowerfirewalls.com

Similar Threads

  1. What Secure Remote client can be used on Win10 with UTM-1 Edge?
    By roveer in forum Check Point UTM-1 Appliances
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2015-12-30, 11:38
  2. No 64 bit secure remote client available for pre 8.1.x Edge clients?
    By roveer in forum Versions Of Firewall-1/VPN-1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-04-23, 07:49
  3. issue accessing remote office mode client from LAN
    By lucid in forum SecureClient/SecuRemote
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-07-09, 00:05
  4. UTM-1 Edge X remote-access community issue
    By skdreams in forum Check Point UTM-1 Edge Appliances
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-08-24, 02:09
  5. VPN-1 Edge in Remote Access Client Mode - No idea how to configure
    By jimbul in forum Check Point UTM-1 Edge Appliances
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-08-21, 12:27

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •