CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it again! He has just released the 2nd edition of "Max Power".
Rather than get into details here, I urge you to check out this announcement post.
It's a massive upgrade, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Physical Interface Lan1 has gone. Obviously an RMA?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2012-07-10
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    257
    Rep Power
    8

    Default Physical Interface Lan1 has gone. Obviously an RMA?

    On an UTM-1 270, which has 4 physical LAN Interfaces (DMZ, External, Internal, Lan1), we noticed that Lan1 has gone, e.g. no longer visible on Gaia Level.
    Reboot does not help. Is this reason enough to ask for an RMA?
    Unfortunately, the box is located at a remote site with no local know-how and support.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2007-06-04
    Posts
    3,313
    Rep Power
    17

    Default Re: Physical Interface Lan1 has gone. Obviously an RMA?

    You can certainly ask, however be prepared for TAC to ask questions etc.

    They may however just do an RMA for you. I find it can depend upon who you get.

    You may have to jump through a bit such as providing a cpinfo, outputs of some commands.

    They may ask to run a HWDiag and send them the output.

    You won't find out however till you raise the RMA with TAC.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2009-04-30
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    2,251
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Re: Physical Interface Lan1 has gone. Obviously an RMA?

    Quote Originally Posted by slowfood27 View Post
    On an UTM-1 270, which has 4 physical LAN Interfaces (DMZ, External, Internal, Lan1), we noticed that Lan1 has gone, e.g. no longer visible on Gaia Level.
    Reboot does not help. Is this reason enough to ask for an RMA?
    Unfortunately, the box is located at a remote site with no local know-how and support.
    Maybe. Run "dmesg" and assuming the firewall was rebooted relatively recently (and there has not been a flood of syslog messages since then), you should be able to see all the messages issued during bootup. At some point during the boot you should see four messages all grouped together as the OS discovers the four individual NICs. Can't remember what vendor NICs the 270 uses but it will be something like "Intel/Broadcom NIC driver version x.y.x". If you see only three of these then the NIC port is indeed dead and an RMA will probably be necessary.

    If however you see four of these messages, it means that the interface can be seen by the OS but the device file representing the kernel link to the underlying missing interface hardware has gotten damaged, removed, or otherwise corrupted in Gaia/Linux. This device file can be rebuilt without RMAing the box (or reloading Gaia) but should probably only be undertaken with the help of support.
    --
    Second Edition of my "Max Power" Firewall Book
    Now Available at http://www.maxpowerfirewalls.com

Similar Threads

  1. VSX R77 physical interface bandwidth
    By DrkNite in forum VPN-1 VSX
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2014-04-28, 16:40
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2013-01-21, 16:45
  3. Maximum Physical Interface on CPFW
    By erwinerwinerwin in forum Check Point SecurePlatform (SPLAT)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-07-11, 09:10
  4. Maximum Physical Interface on CPFW
    By erwinerwinerwin in forum Interoperability
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-06-24, 09:46
  5. Nokia physical interface different than the clustered name
    By deedman in forum Check Point IP Appliances and IPSO (Formerly Sold By Nokia)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-03-22, 01:06

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •