CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it again! He has just released the 2nd edition of "Max Power".
Rather than get into details here, I urge you to check out this announcement post.
It's a massive upgrade, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: How to Migrate export/Migrate Import on Windows

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2014-10-27
    Posts
    150
    Rep Power
    5

    Default How to Migrate export/Migrate Import on Windows

    Hello Experts,

    I need to rebuild a windows based management server (r75.40).

    Does anyone have the process for migrate export --> rebuild---> migrate import on management servers running on Windows OS ?

    Any help will be much appreciated.

    Cheers
    Bhav

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2014-11-14
    Location
    Ottawa Canada
    Posts
    364
    Rep Power
    5

    Default Re: How to Migrate export/Migrate Import on Windows

    There s no written document from Check Point that explicitly walks you through this. Assuming you Here's what you will need to do:

    1. Do the migrate export. From a cli, run these commands:
    cd %FWDIR%\bin\upgrade_tools
    migrate export <filename>
    where <filename> is the location and file name of the export file

    2. Move that export off the server.

    3. Build the new server. I am assuming you will rebuilding the new server with the same version. If you Would like to upgrade to a newer version (which I seriously suggest if you really are at R75.40), I will cover how to do so below.

    4. Once the new server has been built and configured, move the export file to it.

    5. Do the migrate import. From a cli, run these commands:
    cd %FWDIR%\bin\upgrade_tools
    migrate import <filename>
    where <filename> is the location and file name of the export file

    6. Wait for the FWM and SDUU processes to finish (this will take time).

    7. Connect with SamrtDasboard. You will need to use the default admin account first.

    6. Install Database
    Policy -> Install Database

    8. Reset SIC to all necessary devices.

    9. Push Policy, make sure all is good.

    At this point, assuming no problems, you are done.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2007-06-04
    Posts
    3,301
    Rep Power
    17

    Default Re: How to Migrate export/Migrate Import on Windows

    The process is the same as if doing an upgrade in terms of the Check Point tasks, commands etc are the same as in migrate export, migrate import, the differences come in from platform ie $FWDIR vs %FWDIR% etc hence why they don't explicitly document this.

    1.) Make sure that SNMP Services on the Windows Server is stopped ( same as per when applying patches/hfa to windows smartcenter )
    2.) Make sure that the command prompt to run the commands from is opened as an Administrator
    3.) Preferably make sure that the account that you are logged into the Windows Server with is a Local Administrator.

    If you don't do these then may well find that the export doesn't complete or may not export correctly.

    90% of issues had with exporting from a Windows Server have been AD permission related!

    Download the latest Management Migration Tools for Windows for the Version you want to Export too. ie if want to export to an R75.40 then download the R75.40 Management Migration Tools for Windows. However whilst doing this probably worth going R75.47 at least for bug fixes etc. Install these into the %FWDIR%\bin\upgrade_tools on the Windows SmartCenter.

    Open a Command Window ( make sure is as an Administrator )

    Change Directory to the %FWDIR%\bin\upgrade_tools directory
    Execute the command

    migrate export exportfilename

    take an md5sum of the tool - will need a 3rd party tool on Window to do this ( or least I always have )

    Move the File of the Server.

    Rebuild the Server using the same Hostname and IP address ( this is important )
    Install SmartCenter onto the Windows of the same version as the management migration tools that you used to export

    Install the latest version of the Management Migration Tools onto the Server in the %FWDIR%\bin\upgrade_tools

    Transfer the Export File to the same directory

    Perform the md5sum check again to make sure no corruption

    Make sure that the command prompt was opened as an Adminstrator
    Make sure that the Windows SNMP services stopped

    run the command

    migrate import exportfilename

    should import the database etc into the system.

    As is the same Hostname IP address then absolutely no need to reset SIC at all, or do any relicensing.

    Simply install policies to the Gateways in turn to confirm that all management working correctly.

    T
    Last edited by mcnallym; 2015-01-13 at 12:49.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2014-10-27
    Posts
    150
    Rep Power
    5

    Default Re: How to Migrate export/Migrate Import on Windows

    Thanks Guys, I will update once done :-)

Similar Threads

  1. Schedule migrate export
    By Sebastieng in forum Check Point Backup Procedures
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 2016-09-20, 01:33
  2. migrate import fails on 75.47 management
    By RyuCP in forum Installing And Upgrading
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-11-18, 07:24
  3. R75.40 migrate import error
    By avilT in forum Installing And Upgrading
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2013-02-25, 00:17
  4. Migrate Import Fails R75.20
    By Richter in forum Installing And Upgrading
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2012-07-16, 17:29
  5. Migrate Export R75.10 Question
    By gbullock in forum Check Point Backup Procedures
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-08-23, 03:20

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •