CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it yet again - That's right, the 3rd edition is here!
You can read his announcement post here.
It's a massive upgrade focusing on current versions, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Upgrade GW from R75.40 to R77.20

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2012-07-10
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    257
    Rep Power
    8

    Default Upgrade GW from R75.40 to R77.20

    We need to upgrade 30 Gateways at remote locations from R75.40 to R77.20.
    The customers philosphy is to re-install all gateways from scratch. The process is as follows:
    1. Fresh installation of R77.20 on a spare gateway at the main office, using the OS config of R75.40 from Site A
    2. Swap the R75.40 gateway at site A with new R77.20 GW
    3. Bring R75.40 GW of site A to main office and stage it with R77.20 for Site B
    4. Continue process at Site B, C, D and so forth.

    When the gateway is installed from scratch at the main office, the question is if there is a way to re-use the Gaia Config file of R75.40 on the freshly installed R77.20 GW to speed up the OS configuration part.

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2014-09-02
    Posts
    358
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Upgrade GW from R75.40 to R77.20

    Quote Originally Posted by slowfood27 View Post
    the question is if there is a way to re-use the Gaia Config file of R75.40 on the freshly installed R77.20 GW to speed up the OS configuration part.
    Definitely! One of the fun things to do with Gaia is to capture/copy the output of "show configuration" and then (selectively) paste the lines into the CLI of another box. You'll also still have to go through CP initialization/wizard to get the software configured, but it's a great procedure for devices with many interfaces and/or complex routing.

    -E

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2005-08-29
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    2,720
    Rep Power
    17

    Default Re: Upgrade GW from R75.40 to R77.20

    See also "save configuration" and "config_system" (lets you skip the FTW).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2008-07-31
    Location
    Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    1,147
    Rep Power
    13

    Default Re: Upgrade GW from R75.40 to R77.20

    You could also do a direct upgrade using the built in Upgrade utility.
    I have done my share of gateway by noe running R75.40 GAIA and first I have upgraded them to R75.47 before moving on to R77.20, but lately I do it in 1 step and remotely.

    Only prerequisite is that you manually upgrade the CPUSE according SK98228.

    When you do go the 'swap' way then be aware that a number of commands have changed between R75.40 and R77 like
    set dns primary ipv4address 208.67.220.220 <-- R75
    set dns primary 208.67.220.220 <-- R75

    and some other minor difference like "password hash" became "password-hash" so you need to look closely while pasting your config into the new box to see where it gives you an error.
    Regards, Maarten.
    Triple MDS on R77.30, MDS on R80.10, VSX, GAIA.

Similar Threads

  1. r65.70 upgrade --> r71.10 full connectivity upgrade issues
    By lordbigsack in forum Installing And Upgrading
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-01-13, 12:55
  2. Delayed R60 gateway upgrade after mangement/gateway combo upgrade to R75
    By netstorm in forum Security Management Server (Formerly SmartCenter Server ((Formerly Management Server))
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2012-01-05, 09:41
  3. licence upgrade and hardware upgrade
    By symon in forum Licensing
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2011-01-21, 05:00
  4. R65 to R70 Upgrade Failure - Patch upgrade failed
    By Felix001 in forum Installing And Upgrading
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2010-05-28, 13:43

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •