CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it yet again - That's right, the 3rd edition is here!
You can read his announcement post here.
It's a massive upgrade focusing on current versions, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Nokia Network Voyager and Microsoft NPS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2009-05-06
    Posts
    9
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Nokia Network Voyager and Microsoft NPS

    Has anyone managed to get admin access to Network Voyager using Microsoft's NPS for RADIUS authentication? I have set it all up as per this document:

    https://downloads.checkpoint.com/fil...entication.pdf

    I can authenticate but then get this message on the web page:

    Unable to initialize database: {libdb init local: missing or invalid argument}

    When I do a fw monitor of the traffic between the firewall and RADIUS server I see the access-request packet go out and the access-accept packet come back, which would explain the initial authentication working, however it's almost as if I don't have the rights to do more than just log in.

    I suspect it is something to do with the RADIUS attributes not being sent to the firewall, but I'm not sure what.

    Edit: forgot versions etc: IPSO 6.2 on an IP560 running 75.20
    Last edited by the_farrier; 2013-10-22 at 11:55.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2009-05-06
    Posts
    9
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Nokia Network Voyager and Microsoft NPS

    Well, I guess Microsoft NPS isn't the most popular RADIUS server out there! To approach this problem from a different angle has anyone managed to get Nokia appliances authenticating with any RADIUS server? If so was there any niggles with it?

    Currently I have Juniper firewalls, Extreme switches, Cisco routers/switches, HP Blade switches, Avaya ERS switches and Bluecoat packet shapers all authenticating with NPS, the only thing I can't get working is these Nokias!

    Grrr, it's always Checkpoint that causes the headaches...

Similar Threads

  1. loss access to network voyager
    By ssanchezj in forum Installing And Upgrading
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-08-12, 01:29
  2. Nokia IP530 - check if Voyager running ?
    By Terry in forum Off-Topic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2011-10-19, 08:23
  3. SecurID authentication for Nokia Voyager
    By rlambert5 in forum Check Point IP Appliances and IPSO (Formerly Sold By Nokia)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-12-18, 22:03
  4. Nokia IPSO Voyager ACL
    By fendi in forum Check Point IP Appliances and IPSO (Formerly Sold By Nokia)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-06-16, 12:08
  5. Configuring AAA for Nokia Voyager
    By mcarey in forum Check Point IP Appliances and IPSO (Formerly Sold By Nokia)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-04-19, 13:03

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •