CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it yet again - That's right, the 3rd edition is here!
You can read his announcement post here.
It's a massive upgrade focusing on current versions, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Migration of (Globel policy & CMA) Provider-1 to another Provider-1

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2011-10-03
    Posts
    76
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Migration of (Globel policy & CMA) Provider-1 to another Provider-1

    Hi All,

    I have Smart-1 50 MDG with R75.20 (Multi-Domain Security Management R75.20 Build 095)
    We are in planning to upgrade to R75.40 VS.But before that I want to test on VM.

    I am trying to replicate my existing setup on VM.
    I have install MDG on VM with R75.20 (Multi-Domain Security Management R75.20 Build 095)

    Can anyone tell me how can I migrate my whole setup to New VM MDG?
    In my existing setup I have created 4 CMA. Whether I have to migrate one by one CMA or whole MDS and How?

    Any kind of help is welcome...
    Thanx...
    Thanx
    Arjun

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2007-06-04
    Posts
    3,314
    Rep Power
    17

    Default Re: Migration of (Globel policy & CMA) Provider-1 to another Provider-1

    Exporting and Importing a Multi-Domain Server Page 120 of the R75.40VS Installation and Upgrade Guie onwards explains how to do an export and then import to a new MDS Server. Exports a single file and then imports that into an R75.40vs MDS Server.

    Replicate and Upgrade section covers using the mds_backup and mds_restore commands on how to move to a new peice of hardware / virtual machine on the same version of software. Effectively is a full mds backup and restoration. ( Part of your regular backup process! )

    You can do a 1 Domain at a time using the migrate export and then cma_migrate commands to simply export a single Domain from the R75.20 and then import onto an R75.40vs. You will need to use the R75.40vs migration tools on both boxes to export an R75.40vs compatible.

    Gradual Upgrade to Another Computer on page 122 goes through the process.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2011-10-03
    Posts
    76
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Migration of (Globel policy & CMA) Provider-1 to another Provider-1

    Quote Originally Posted by mcnallym View Post
    Exporting and Importing a Multi-Domain Server Page 120 of the R75.40VS Installation and Upgrade Guie onwards explains how to do an export and then import to a new MDS Server. Exports a single file and then imports that into an R75.40vs MDS Server.

    Replicate and Upgrade section covers using the mds_backup and mds_restore commands on how to move to a new peice of hardware / virtual machine on the same version of software. Effectively is a full mds backup and restoration. ( Part of your regular backup process! )

    You can do a 1 Domain at a time using the migrate export and then cma_migrate commands to simply export a single Domain from the R75.20 and then import onto an R75.40vs. You will need to use the R75.40vs migration tools on both boxes to export an R75.40vs compatible.

    Gradual Upgrade to Another Computer on page 122 goes through the process.
    Hi,

    Thanx for ur reply....
    I have taken mds_backup from my existing MDS and on VM keep the file in /var/tmp & try to restore with ./mds_restore <file name.mdsbkp.tgz>
    but it gives following error...
    bash: ./mds_restore Permission denied


    Thanx a lot
    Thanx
    Arjun

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2006-12-04
    Posts
    1,316
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: Migration of (Globel policy & CMA) Provider-1 to another Provider-1

    Quote Originally Posted by sawant.arjun@gmail.com View Post

    bash: ./mds_restore Permission denied
    Change permition for mds_restore (make it executable):

    chmod +x mds_restore
    and try again.


    example:
    [Expert@]# ls -la
    -rw-rw---- 1 root root 0 Jun 4 13:36 test
    [Expert@]# chmod +x test
    [Expert@]# ls -la
    -rwxrwx--- 1 root root 0 Jun 4 13:36 test
    Last edited by serlud; 2013-06-04 at 07:39.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2011-10-03
    Posts
    76
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Migration of (Globel policy & CMA) Provider-1 to another Provider-1

    Hi serlud,

    Thanx for ur response.
    It works, it executing the mde_restore command but after that it gives another error..

    Mds_restore> ./gtar lacks execution permissions. Aborting.

    Mds_restore> Multi-Domain Server restoration aborted !


    Thanx...
    Thanx
    Arjun

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2006-12-04
    Posts
    1,316
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: Migration of (Globel policy & CMA) Provider-1 to another Provider-1

    Quote Originally Posted by sawant.arjun@gmail.com View Post
    Hi serlud,

    Thanx for ur response.
    It works, it executing the mde_restore command but after that it gives another error..

    Mds_restore> ./gtar lacks execution permissions. Aborting.

    Mds_restore> Multi-Domain Server restoration aborted !


    Thanx...
    The same problem - just add execute permition to gtar and also to gzip:
    chmod +x gtar
    chmod +x gzip

    (or just for all files in the location :chmod +x * )

  7. #7
    Join Date
    2011-10-03
    Posts
    76
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Migration of (Globel policy & CMA) Provider-1 to another Provider-1

    Hi serlud,

    With this command I can able to restore MDS backup.
    After finishing nothing has shown in "mdsstat"

    I modify the interface on VM as same as on live appliance, but still having same issue.
    Is it require to do any thing else...??

    Second thing after restoring I am not able to login in smart domain manager from client.I added client ip in GUI client also.

    Thanx..
    Last edited by sawant.arjun@gmail.com; 2013-06-05 at 03:48.
    Thanx
    Arjun

  8. #8
    Join Date
    2011-10-03
    Posts
    76
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Migration of (Globel policy & CMA) Provider-1 to another Provider-1

    Hi,

    In mdsstat, CMAs are showing down.
    And also now I am login in smart domain manager from client.

    What could be the issue for CMA showing down..

    Thanx,,,
    Thanx
    Arjun

  9. #9
    Join Date
    2011-10-03
    Posts
    76
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Migration of (Globel policy & CMA) Provider-1 to another Provider-1

    Hi,

    After restoring mds backup from smart-1 appliance to VM(same version) with same IP, facing below issue
    In mdsstat,
    all the CMA's processes are showing down.And mds's cpd process showing down (FWM,FWD & CPCA process are up)

    I already replace registry file with working MDS and also configure leading interface in vip_index.conf file in all CMA.

    What could be the issue??/
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mdstat.JPG 
Views:	217 
Size:	42.6 KB 
ID:	751  
    Thanx
    Arjun

Similar Threads

  1. Gateway Migration to new Provider-1 same CMA
    By Maubanin70 in forum Provider-1 (Multi-Domain Management)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2012-09-26, 15:29
  2. CMA migration from one Provider-1 NGx R70.20 to another Provider-1 NGx R71.30 system
    By cciesec2006 in forum Provider-1 (Multi-Domain Management)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2012-05-11, 11:10
  3. Provider-1 and VSX - Migration of a CMA containing VS with change of IP address
    By cblanco in forum Provider-1 (Multi-Domain Management)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-12-16, 04:40
  4. Provider-1 CMA migration from R70.40 to R71.10
    By cciesec2006 in forum Provider-1 (Multi-Domain Management)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2010-10-22, 09:21
  5. Migration from Provider-1 CMA to single SmartCenterServer
    By the-k33n in forum Security Management Server (Formerly SmartCenter Server ((Formerly Management Server))
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-09-10, 20:24

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •