CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it yet again - That's right, the 3rd edition is here!
You can read his announcement post here.
It's a massive upgrade focusing on current versions, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Not able to install R75.40 Gateway on VMware

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2011-10-03
    Posts
    76
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Not able to install R75.40 Gateway on VMware

    Hi,

    I am not able to install R75.40 image Gateway on VMware.On VMware I want to setup lab for testing for implementation.
    But while installation (During Formatting HDD), it gives below error.

    "An error occured trying to format lv_log. This problem is serious, and the install cannot continue, press enter to reboot your system".

    I have tried all R75 image, but error is same.I am able to install R71 without any error.Is it require any specific requirement for R75 on VMware?

    VMware: 9.0 (Also on 6.0)
    Memory: 4GB
    CPU: 2
    HDD: 80 GB (Tried with both IDE/SATA-Physical space is also free 80GB)
    OS: Linux (Also tried on other 64 Bit)

    Can any one tell me whct could be the issue?
    Thanx...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2009-04-30
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    2,252
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Re: Not able to install R75.40 Gateway on VMware

    You are using the wrong image, use the iso image designated for "Open Servers" and not the one for UTM-1/2012 Appliances. If you make your VMWare hard drive about 250GB the UTM-1/2012 image will sort of work in VMWare though...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2011-10-03
    Posts
    76
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Not able to install R75.40 Gateway on VMware

    Quote Originally Posted by ShadowPeak.com View Post
    You are using the wrong image, use the iso image designated for "Open Servers" and not the one for UTM-1/2012 Appliances. If you make your VMWare hard drive about 250GB the UTM-1/2012 image will sort of work in VMWare though...
    Hi ShadowPeak,

    Thanx for your response....
    I have used all the following images which are .ISO, but still giving same error....Can u send me any link for R75 proper image which I can use in vmware.

    Check_Point_Install_and_Upgrade_R75.40VS.Gaia
    Check_Point_R75.10_12000_Clean_Install
    Check_Point_R75.30_Appliance
    Check_Point_R75.46_SPLAT_Appliance
    Check_Point_R75_Appliance

    Also what is minimum HDD size require on Vmware???
    Is specifying 250 GB HDD, solve the issue??

    Thanx...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2009-04-30
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    2,252
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Re: Not able to install R75.40 Gateway on VMware

    Filename is Check_Point_R75.40.Splat.iso:

    https://supportcenter.checkpoint.com...=&fileid=14886

    Yes increasing the Hard Drive size to about 250GB in VMWare will permit the appliance-based images to load successfully in VMWare but you really should use the image above instead; you can get away with as little as a 12GB hard drive in a lab/test environment.
    Last edited by ShadowPeak.com; 2013-04-16 at 00:37.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2011-10-03
    Posts
    76
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Not able to install R75.40 Gateway on VMware

    Quote Originally Posted by ShadowPeak.com View Post
    Filename is Check_Point_R75.40.Splat.iso:

    https://supportcenter.checkpoint.com...=&fileid=14886

    Yes increasing the Hard Drive size to about 250GB in VMWare will permit the appliance-based images to load successfully in VMWare but you really should use the image above instead; you can get away with as little as a 12GB hard drive in a lab/test environment.
    Hi ShadowPeak,

    Thanx for quick response....
    I will check and definitely...get back to u...

    One more thing..Do u have any courseware/studyguide for CCSE R75 (156.315)..I am planning to go for this/Also ready to pay...
    Also can u tell the formate of the exam...Is there any lab or optional only?
    What is a exam cost?

    It will be very helpful for me.....Thanx..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2009-04-30
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    2,252
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Re: Not able to install R75.40 Gateway on VMware

    Quote Originally Posted by sawant.arjun@gmail.com View Post
    Hi ShadowPeak,

    Thanx for quick response....
    I will check and definitely...get back to u...

    One more thing..Do u have any courseware/studyguide for CCSE R75 (156.315)..I am planning to go for this/Also ready to pay...
    Also can u tell the formate of the exam...Is there any lab or optional only?
    What is a exam cost?

    It will be very helpful for me.....Thanx..
    Exam cost for CCSA R75 is $200 and it is a Computer-based Test (CBT). Check Point is in the process of updating the CCSA/CCSE courses to R76 and Gaia, so as a Check Point ATC I *may* have some unused residual hardcopies of the CCSA/CCSE R75 courseware for sale in a month or two. Sorry I do not have electronic copies of these materials...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    2011-10-03
    Posts
    76
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Not able to install R75.40 Gateway on VMware

    Quote Originally Posted by ShadowPeak.com View Post
    Exam cost for CCSA R75 is $200 and it is a Computer-based Test (CBT). Check Point is in the process of updating the CCSA/CCSE courses to R76 and Gaia, so as a Check Point ATC I *may* have some unused residual hardcopies of the CCSA/CCSE R75 courseware for sale in a month or two. Sorry I do not have electronic copies of these materials...
    Hi ShadowPeak,

    Thanx for you feedback and I completely agree with u....
    can u pls upload CBT anywhere ????

    Thanx once again.....

  8. #8
    Join Date
    2009-04-30
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    2,252
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Re: Not able to install R75.40 Gateway on VMware

    The practice CBT is here and is free of charge:

    Self-Study Resources | Check Point Software

  9. #9
    Join Date
    2011-10-03
    Posts
    76
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Not able to install R75.40 Gateway on VMware

    Quote Originally Posted by ShadowPeak.com View Post
    The practice CBT is here and is free of charge:

    Self-Study Resources | Check Point Software
    Hi,

    I am asking CCSE R75 exam cost??
    Also how can we check interface bandwidth utilization on gateway interface???/


    Thanx....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    2009-04-30
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    2,252
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Re: Not able to install R75.40 Gateway on VMware

    Quote Originally Posted by sawant.arjun@gmail.com View Post
    Hi,

    I am asking CCSE R75 exam cost??
    Same, $200.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    2011-10-03
    Posts
    76
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Not able to install R75.40 Gateway on VMware

    Quote Originally Posted by ShadowPeak.com View Post
    Same, $200.

    Thanx....a LOT

    Also can u u tell me about previous query.......how can we check interface bandwidth utilization on gateway interface??

Similar Threads

  1. R75.20 SPLAT Security Gateway in VMware - FW Monitor
    By Vucabraz in forum Miscellaneous
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2013-04-26, 10:25
  2. R75.40 problem to install /uninstall SmartConsole
    By stots in forum SmartDashboard
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2013-01-05, 18:48
  3. Upgrade Security Management gateway from R71.45 to R75.40
    By OleksandrBolshov in forum Check Point SecurePlatform (SPLAT)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-09-03, 08:55
  4. Help! About install R75.40
    By viethungvu121 in forum Installing And Upgrading
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-07-11, 22:31
  5. IPS Gateway Protection Scope expected behavior, R75.40
    By _lele_ in forum IPS Blade (Formerly SmartDefense)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2012-06-25, 05:07

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •