CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it again! He has just released the 2nd edition of "Max Power".
Rather than get into details here, I urge you to check out this announcement post.
It's a massive upgrade, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Best way to restore a backup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2006-03-11
    Posts
    61
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Best way to restore a backup

    This is probably an easy answer but would like other people input. I have baackup taken on a R70.1 Smart-1 applaince via a scheduled backup created in the WebUI. Pretty straight forward so far. Is it possible to restore this backup using upgrade_import? Im restoring to same appliace (or new applanice) after it has been rebuilt after a hardware failure. Same version in being used as the version whent he backup was taken. I know using the restore process would be the better way to do it however Im really more curious than anything on the other options available. Does a backup file work with upgrade_import or are they specific they must be used with the restore process?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2009-04-14
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    405
    Rep Power
    11

    Default Re: Best way to restore a backup

    Backups can only be restored using the 'restore' process, not upgrade_import. Do do a restore, you would have to load the same OS and patch level and complete the first time config wizard, and then you should be able to restore your backup file.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2011-01-12
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Best way to restore a backup

    Hello,

    upgrade_import/upgrade_export are usefull to export/import the database. It doesn't restore the machine's state (interfaces, routing, admin users etc...).
    It only restores database (rulebase, Checkpoint users/GUI etc...)

    Usually, we use upgrade_tools with the management database and the backup/restore process with the gateways.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2006-02-05
    Posts
    115
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Re: Best way to restore a backup

    So 'migrate' is only for management, like SmartCenter, and backup/restore is to restore to a gateway running the same Checkpoint version?
    If so, what is now the recommended way to export your running config (interfaces, routes, certs, etc) for import to a gateway running a later version?
    I realise you can do an insitu upgrade via Smartupdate or even the web gui. But that doesnt help with moving to new hardware.

Similar Threads

  1. Problems to restore backup
    By robori in forum Security Management Server (Formerly SmartCenter Server ((Formerly Management Server))
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-09-12, 08:56
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-06-12, 03:05
  3. Why R70 can not restore its own backup ?
    By AliNurs in forum Check Point Backup Procedures
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-08-04, 13:22
  4. backup/restore of SC
    By technick22 in forum Security Management Server (Formerly SmartCenter Server ((Formerly Management Server))
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2008-01-09, 22:24
  5. backup and restore
    By pbhinder in forum SmartDashboard
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-08-21, 03:57

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •