CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it again! He has just released the 2nd edition of "Max Power".
Rather than get into details here, I urge you to check out this announcement post.
It's a massive upgrade, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Management software for IPS-1 2070 Copper

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2012-06-11
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Management software for IPS-1 2070 Copper

    Hello ...

    We recently purchased IPS-1 2070 Copper, and now we are wondering what management software from Checkpoint that we can use that we don't have to purchase a new license to run the management server?

    The sensor is running R71.
    All advice and pointer are appreciated.

    Thank you.
    cheers,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2006-12-04
    Posts
    1,316
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Re: Management software for IPS-1 2070 Copper

    Quote Originally Posted by ckwadmin View Post
    Hello ...

    We recently purchased IPS-1 2070 Copper, and now we are wondering what management software from Checkpoint that we can use that we don't have to purchase a new license to run the management server?
    ,
    Yes , you have to buy standart CP mangement softeware (or appliance Smart-1 5 ....)to manage and see logs from this sensor.
    Example:
    SM1003 -Security Management pre-defined system (10 GWs, 3 Blades) $9,200
    Smart-1 Security Management managing 5 gateways with 4 Management blades $6,150 (performance can be not acceptable)

    Do you have any HFA on IPS-1? (for 1 year we have tested R71 IPS on open server)
    Last edited by serlud; 2012-06-12 at 03:44.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2012-06-11
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Management software for IPS-1 2070 Copper

    Quote Originally Posted by serlud View Post
    Yes , you have to buy standart CP mangement softeware (or appliance Smart-1 5 ....)to manage and see logs from this sensor.
    Example:
    SM1003 -Security Management pre-defined system (10 GWs, 3 Blades) $9,200
    Smart-1 Security Management managing 5 gateways with 4 Management blades $6,150 (performance can be not acceptable)

    Do you have any HFA on IPS-1? (for 1 year we have tested R71 IPS on open server)

    Sorry, what is HFA? I am new to CP IPS.
    So there is no other way to manage IPS-1 2070 except to pay for SM1003 or Smart-1 appliance?
    How about using Check_Point_IPS-1_Dashboard_NGX_R65.1?
    Thank you.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2006-12-04
    Posts
    1,316
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Re: Management software for IPS-1 2070 Copper

    Quote Originally Posted by ckwadmin View Post
    Sorry, what is HFA? I am new to CP IPS.
    So there is no other way to manage IPS-1 2070 except to pay for SM1003 or Smart-1 appliance?
    How about using Check_Point_IPS-1_Dashboard_NGX_R65.1?
    Thank you.
    No way..

    Dashboard is only GUI and should connect to SM1003 or Smart-1 Apliiance.
    Only SM1003 or Appliace can push policy or new signature ... to your IPS-1 Appliance ...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2012-11-04
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Management software for IPS-1 2070 Copper

    Quote Originally Posted by serlud View Post
    Yes , you have to buy standart CP mangement softeware (or appliance Smart-1 5 ....)to manage and see logs from this sensor.
    Example:
    SM1003 -Security Management pre-defined system (10 GWs, 3 Blades) $9,200
    Smart-1 Security Management managing 5 gateways with 4 Management blades $6,150 (performance can be not acceptable)

    Do you have any HFA on IPS-1? (for 1 year we have tested R71 IPS on open server)

    Hi,

    Good day!
    I'm also new to Checkpoint IPS and we purchased IPS-1 5070 appliance, reading on this thread it seems we really need management server (either an appliance or software based). My question is, can we possible use a 3rd party software to manage the sensor as well to get and analyze the logs. For now, we are planning it as IDS mode only then later as IPS.

    If we can use a 3rd party to manage the sensor, any recommendation please?

    Thanks a lot.

    Wilner

Similar Threads

  1. Is it possible to amend alert summary options for IPS software blade?
    By dmease in forum IPS Blade (Formerly SmartDefense)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-08-22, 07:55
  2. IP395/397 2-Port Copper Gigabit Module
    By wandererz in forum Announcements From Check Point Administrators, For Sale/Wanted, Etc.
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-08-15, 16:47
  3. How does IPS software blade work with other software Blades?
    By rajeevraj in forum IPS Blade (Formerly SmartDefense)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-07-22, 05:28
  4. Multi-Domain Management software blades
    By PhoneBoy in forum Check Point Release Notifications
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 2010-09-16, 13:25
  5. UTM-2070 Saga
    By dbrown3611 in forum Check Point UTM-1 Appliances
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2009-06-04, 16:29

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •