CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.

First, I hope you're all well and staying safe.
Second, I want to give a "heads up" that you should see more activity here shortly, and maybe a few cosmetic changes.
I'll post more details to the "Announcements" forum soon, so be on the lookout. -E

Thread: Check point Security Server vs real proxy like Bluecoat

Default Check point Security Server vs real proxy like Bluecoat

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new with check point and I would like to know what's the difference betwwen Check Point Security Server and a real proxy like bluecoat.

I know that security server can perform users Authentication.

Thanks for your answers.

Alex

Default Re: Check point Security Server vs real proxy like Bluecoat

In the past, this feature was only able to handle around 500 connections.

I don't know if it has been improved in R70 and above code. I haven't used it in years.

If you need something cost effective than use Squid on CentOS, or your favorite flavor of Linux.
    You can even get commercial URL filtering for squid.

Thank you alienbaby,

Your reply is clear.

Alex.

Recently I was digging into a BlueCoat ProxySG / ProxyAV setup for ICAP and noticed some things that had room for improvement. Not a major overhaul, but some things that were missed from the best practices guide that just so happened to be causing a bit of an issue. Below is part of the small case study I completed to explain the options and differences between them, as well as my recommendations to management on how to proceed. - See more at: http://www.curiousecurity.com/blog/b....8FluIt7u.dpuf

If you need to do a good job on content security, a dedicated proxy will always beat the stuff-everything-in-one-box products like Check Point. By good job I mean things like:

• Fast MITM SSL decrypyion and other SSL certificate validation mechanisms
    • Integration with various authentication systems like AD