CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it again! He has just released the 2nd edition of "Max Power".
Rather than get into details here, I urge you to check out this announcement post.
It's a massive upgrade, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Changed disk layout R70 to R71 (SPLAT) ??? Snapshot / Revert failing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2009-10-23
    Posts
    58
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Changed disk layout R70 to R71 (SPLAT) ??? Snapshot / Revert failing

    Hello,

    I upgraded our system from R70.10 to R71.30 via "patch add cd" (see here). AFAIK, this is still a supported upgrade method (besides export import).

    R71 is running and I tried to restore it to our spare machine to check, if snapshot / revert is still working with R71. It is not, because of a changed partition layout:

    Our upgraded system has a "R70 disk layout" (or whenever this was introduced):

    Code:
    [Expert@gatekeeper]# fdisk /dev/sda
    
    
    Command (m for help): p
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 36.3 GB, 36364615680 bytes
    64 heads, 32 sectors/track, 34680 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 2048 * 512 = 1048576 bytes
    
       Device Boot    Start       End    Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *         1       150    153584   83  Linux
    /dev/sda2           151      9398   9469952   82  Linux swap
    /dev/sda3          9399     12934   3620864   83  Linux
    /dev/sda4         12935     34680  22267904    f  Win95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda5         12935     32120  19646448   83  Linux
    /dev/sda6         32121     33656   1572848   83  Linux
    /dev/sda7         33657     34680   1048560   83  Linux
    
    
    
    [Expert@gatekeeper]# more /etc/fstab
    LABEL=/                 /                       ext3    defaults        1 1
    LABEL=/boot             /boot                   ext3    defaults        1 2
    none                    /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620  0 0
    LABEL=/opt              /opt                    ext3    defaults        1 2
    none                    /proc                   proc    defaults        0 0
    none                    /dev/shm                tmpfs   defaults        0 0
    LABEL=/sysimg           /sysimg                 ext3    defaults        1 2
    LABEL=/var              /var                    ext3    defaults        1 2
    /dev/sda2               swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
    /dev/cdrom              /mnt/cdrom              udf,iso9660 noauto,owner,kudzu,ro 0 0
    /dev/fd0                /mnt/floppy             auto    noauto,owner,kudzu 0 0
    
    
    [Expert@gatekeeper]# more /etc/mtab
    /dev/sda7 / ext3 rw 0 0
    none /proc proc rw 0 0
    none /dev/pts devpts rw,gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    usbdevfs /proc/bus/usb usbdevfs rw 0 0
    /dev/sda1 /boot ext3 rw 0 0
    /dev/sda3 /opt ext3 rw 0 0
    none /dev/shm tmpfs rw 0 0
    /dev/sda6 /sysimg ext3 rw 0 0
    /dev/sda5 /var ext3 rw 0 0
    
    
    [Expert@gatekeeper]# df -k
    Filesystem           1K-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sda7              1032072    167712    811932  18% /
    /dev/sda1               148726     11239    129808   8% /boot
    /dev/sda3              3563904    529356   2853508  16% /opt
    none                   2075188         0   2075188   0% /dev/shm
    /dev/sda6              1548128    399628   1069860  28% /sysimg
    /dev/sda5             19337916   1410420  16945176   8% /var
    [Expert@gatekeeper]#

    If I setup a system via booting from the R71.10 CD (the one I used to upgrade R70.20), a different partition layout is installed and the attempt to restore the snapshot from our live system fails:

    Code:
    [Expert@gatekeeper]# fdisk /dev/sda
    
    
    Command (m for help): p
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 36.3 GB, 36364615680 bytes
    64 heads, 32 sectors/track, 34680 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 2048 * 512 = 1048576 bytes
    
       Device Boot    Start       End    Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *         1       150    153584   83  Linux
    /dev/sda2           151      1686   1572864   83  Linux
    /dev/sda3          1687     10934   9469952   82  Linux swap
    /dev/sda4         10935     34680  24315904    f  Win95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda5         10935     14470   3620848   83  Linux
    /dev/sda6         14471     15494   1048560   83  Linux
    /dev/sda7         15495     34680  19646448   83  Linux
    
    
    
    [Expert@gatekeeper]# more /etc/fstab
    LABEL=/                 /                       ext3    defaults        1 1
    LABEL=/boot             /boot                   ext3    defaults        1 2
    none                    /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620  0 0
    LABEL=/opt              /opt                    ext3    defaults        1 2
    none                    /proc                   proc    defaults        0 0
    LABEL=/sysimg           /sysimg                 ext3    defaults        1 2
    LABEL=/var              /var                    ext3    defaults        1 2
    /dev/sda3               swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
    /dev/cdrom              /mnt/cdrom              udf,iso9660 noauto,owner,kudzu,ro 0 0
    /dev/fd0                /mnt/floppy             auto    noauto,owner,kudzu 0 0
    
    
    
    [Expert@gatekeeper]# more /etc/mtab
    /dev/sda6 / ext3 rw 0 0
    none /proc proc rw 0 0
    none /dev/pts devpts rw,gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    usbdevfs /proc/bus/usb usbdevfs rw 0 0
    /dev/sda1 /boot ext3 rw 0 0
    /dev/sda5 /opt ext3 rw 0 0
    /dev/sda2 /sysimg ext3 rw 0 0
    /dev/sda7 /var ext3 rw 0 0
    I can't believe this. How to do a quick disaster recovery now ? Why has there been a change in the partition layout ?

    Can anybody confirm this or at least check, what disk layout his R70 or R71 has ?
    If the "new" layout is current now, then how to adapt an old system, because every new update will give you the same problems ?


    Regards,
    Hartmut

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2006-12-04
    Posts
    1,316
    Rep Power
    13

    Default Re: Changed disk layout R70 to R71 (SPLAT) ??? Snapshot / Revert failing

    Snapshot /revert was and will never support different major version....

    To make quick disaster recovery :
    1. make new snapshot.
    2. on new HW install R71.
    3. copy actual R71 snapshot to new HW.
    4. run revert..
    5. test restored system....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2007-06-04
    Posts
    3,267
    Rep Power
    16

    Default Re: Changed disk layout R70 to R71 (SPLAT) ??? Snapshot / Revert failing

    As you have a test machine then install that to the R70.10 first and then upgrade that to the R71.30 and check that you can move a snapshot and/or backup from the live box to the test box. (as this mirrors the upgrade process that the production box has gone then that should have the same disk layout) The test box should then have the same disk layout as the production box, and a snapshot revert should work.

    I remember Nokia in the days of IPSO 3.x increasing a partition size as found that it was tool small. Upgraded installations retained the origianal layout, and new builds had the new layout.

    As such in order to "adapt" the box to the new layout then perform the following.

    1.) Take Upgrade_export of the Production SPLAT Server on R71.30
    2.) Clean Install R71.10 onto a Server and upgrade to R71.30
    3.) Configure the Interfaces, Routing etc on the new box
    4.) Select to install from an imported configuration, and point at the export file from the Production Box.

    You will now have an R71.30 system with the new disk layout and your existing Check Point configuration

    I am assuming that the following different R70.x and R71.x numbers are a typo.

    If I setup a system via booting from the R71.10 CD (the one I used to upgrade R70.20), a different partition layout is installed and the attempt to restore the snapshot from our live system fails:

    I upgraded our system from R70.10 to R71.30 via "patch add cd

    and that you aren't trying to restore an R71.30 to an R71.10 system.

    I don't work for Check Point however I would suspect that the changed disk layout is probably due to different disk usage with the additional blades in R71.x compared to R70.x.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2009-10-23
    Posts
    58
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Changed disk layout R70 to R71 (SPLAT) ??? Snapshot / Revert failing

    Quote Originally Posted by serlud View Post
    Snapshot /revert was and will never support different major version....

    To make quick disaster recovery :
    1. make new snapshot.
    2. on new HW install R71.
    3. copy actual R71 snapshot to new HW.
    4. run revert..
    5. test restored system....
    Thats exactly what I tried to do and what is *not* working. I tried to revert to a fresh R71 install but the snapshot was created from my "upgraded" R71 -> different partiton scheme.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2009-10-23
    Posts
    58
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Changed disk layout R70 to R71 (SPLAT) ??? Snapshot / Revert failing

    Quote Originally Posted by mcnallym View Post
    As you have a test machine then install that to the R70.10 first and then upgrade that to the R71.30 and check that you can move a snapshot and/or backup from the live box to the test box. (as this mirrors the upgrade process that the production box has gone then that should have the same disk layout) The test box should then have the same disk layout as the production box, and a snapshot revert should work.
    That's exactly what I'm trying right now. Thanks for backing this up.

    Quote Originally Posted by mcnallym View Post
    I remember Nokia in the days of IPSO 3.x increasing a partition size as found that it was tool small. Upgraded installations retained the origianal layout, and new builds had the new layout.
    Yes, but here, the partition sizes retained the same, but simply the order get mixed up. So there is no gain.


    Quote Originally Posted by mcnallym View Post
    As such in order to "adapt" the box to the new layout then perform the following.

    1.) Take Upgrade_export of the Production SPLAT Server on R71.30
    2.) Clean Install R71.10 onto a Server and upgrade to R71.30
    3.) Configure the Interfaces, Routing etc on the new box
    4.) Select to install from an imported configuration, and point at the export file from the Production Box.
    OK. I guess, that's the only way. But can somebody confirm, that the "new layout" is the actual one (still used with new R75 installations) ?


    Quote Originally Posted by mcnallym View Post
    I am assuming that the following different R70.x and R71.x numbers are a typo.
    No typo. For a number of versions (R6x, R70) I still could revert a snapshot with the CD, I initially upgraded the system without patching first. I tried this multiple times to be trained and check our restore procedure. AFAIK, the primary install is only used to have a working system to restore (revert) the snapshot and is completly overwritten with the restored snapshot. As long there is no "version mismatch error" when trying to revert, it's OK. So I tried to restore the R71.30 snapshot with a fresh R71.10 install, too.

    Thanks,
    Hartmut

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2009-10-23
    Posts
    58
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Changed disk layout R70 to R71 (SPLAT) ??? Snapshot / Revert failing

    I can now confirm the following to work for me:

    • Fresh install of SPLAT with a R70 media cd (I guess it's R70.00), no blades selected at install time
    • Upgrade with "patch add cd" using a R70.10 install media. The upgrade wanted at least one package selected, so I used "Security Gateway"
    • pulled my my R70.30 snapshot via scp to the box and reverted it
    • After reboot, my R70.30 installation was running as expected
    I'm still asking myself, why CP has decided for a change in partition order. Bug or Feature ?

    Hartmut

Similar Threads

  1. NAT Rule Layout/Architecture
    By alienbaby in forum NAT (Network Address Translation)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2011-06-13, 19:43
  2. Snapshot -revert broken on R65 2.6 ?
    By sail4fun in forum Check Point Backup Procedures
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-02-15, 10:06
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-07-01, 08:50
  4. SPLAT Smartcenter snapshot password ?
    By darkarchon in forum Security Management Server (Formerly SmartCenter Server ((Formerly Management Server))
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-01-03, 03:57
  5. SPLAT Backup or Snapshot ??
    By pat13b in forum Check Point Backup Procedures
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-12-27, 09:29

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •