CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it again! He has just released the 2nd edition of "Max Power".
Rather than get into details here, I urge you to check out this announcement post.
It's a massive upgrade, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Utilizing idle IP330 as backup for IP390

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2007-08-14
    Posts
    14
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Utilizing idle IP330 as backup for IP390

    I'd like to utilize an idle IP330 as a spare for an IP390 in the event of an
    IP390 failure. I tried altering the IP address of the IP330 to match the IP390 but the policy will not load. I suspect this is due to the license on the IP330 not referencing the new IP address. We made some IP address changes at the time of implementing the IP390 so I had to change the license. Can I somehow get the correct license onto the IP330?

    The 390 runs NGX while the 330 is NG FP3. For the license to work on the 330 does it need to run NGX? Will NGX even run on an IP330?

    Thanks for any advice.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2008-07-16
    Posts
    150
    Rep Power
    12

    Default Re: Utilizing idle IP330 as backup for IP390

    An NGX licence will not work for the older NG (they changed all the licence types when NGX came around - obviously going to R70 this changes again).

    As to whether an IP330 will run NGX - it depends on whether you can get to IPSO 4.x - not sure it's supported, I'm sure that the resident CP / Nokia bods in the forum will know.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2007-06-04
    Posts
    3,304
    Rep Power
    17

    Default Re: Utilizing idle IP330 as backup for IP390

    You can get it upto R61 however IPSO 4.2 and NGX R65 is a no show.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2005-08-14
    Location
    Gig Harbor, WA, USA
    Posts
    2,494
    Rep Power
    17

    Default Re: Utilizing idle IP330 as backup for IP390

    Expecting a 10 year old platform that was originally sold as a low-end box to be able to run current releases of software is a bit much. The last version of IPSO that supported the IP330 was IPSO 4.0.1, which itself is now EOL. No idea what version of Check Point will run on that release, but R61 sounds about right and that is going EOL this month.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2007-08-14
    Posts
    14
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Utilizing idle IP330 as backup for IP390

    I've scrapped that idea and am now configuring a Windows platform until I can purchase another Nokia box to have as a standby.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2006-03-08
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    490
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Re: Utilizing idle IP330 as backup for IP390

    Ewwww... Scrap the Windows idea and go SPLAT instead (unless of course for hardware compatibility)

Similar Threads

  1. Issues with idle timeout
    By goldberg in forum Miscellaneous
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-10-22, 23:29
  2. Backup / Restore on Nokia IP390
    By phelanre in forum Check Point Backup Procedures
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-01-29, 14:14
  3. Idle Timeout
    By sridharraj80 in forum SmartDashboard
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-07-24, 08:19
  4. How to backup checkpoint through CLI in Nokia IP330 + Checkpoint NG FP1
    By stuart in forum Check Point Backup Procedures
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-04-05, 05:47
  5. extending idle logout?
    By jmcgrady in forum Check Point SecurePlatform (SPLAT)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2006-10-02, 12:20

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •