CPUG: The Check Point User Group

Resources for the Check Point Community, by the Check Point Community.


Tim Hall has done it again! He has just released the 2nd edition of "Max Power".
Rather than get into details here, I urge you to check out this announcement post.
It's a massive upgrade, and well worth checking out. -E

 

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How can i find out the configuration of my checkpoint if I don't have access to it

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2009-03-12
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default How can i find out the configuration of my checkpoint if I don't have access to it

    I have a problem with a firewall that I have been assigned to work on. We are trying to get the configuration off of it (rules) so we can get the information into a new box. We currently dont have access to the software at all because we do not have the password. What can we do?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2006-07-28
    Location
    San Francisco, USA
    Posts
    2,494
    Rep Power
    16

    Default Re: How can i find out the configuration of my checkpoint if I don't have access to i

    Do you not have access to the Check Point password, or the OS password, or both?

    If you don't have the OS password, do a password reset for the OS.

    If you don't have a Check Point admin password, run cpconfig, and create a new admin account.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2009-03-12
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: How can i find out the configuration of my checkpoint if I don't have access to i

    We have access to the linux box but not to the checkpoint system itself. we were told that if we reset the password on the checkpoint system we would loose the configuration (rule base) which is what we are really after. When we create a new user would we wipe the config?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2007-07-16
    Location
    a land down under!
    Posts
    2,015
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: How can i find out the configuration of my checkpoint if I don't have access to i

    Resetting the gui Administrator account will not remove the configuration. If you're at all anxious about this, take a backup before making changes.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2007-02-07
    Posts
    161
    Rep Power
    13

    Default Re: How can i find out the configuration of my checkpoint if I don't have access to i

    Thorpuse is right. Just enter cpconfig at the linux box and delete the admin account. Create a new admin account with a new password. You won't loose your ScmartCenter configuration by recreating the admin user.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2009-03-12
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: How can i find out the configuration of my checkpoint if I don't have access to i

    Thanks. that should solve the problem

  7. #7
    Join Date
    2008-09-23
    Posts
    19
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: How can i find out the configuration of my checkpoint if I don't have access to i

    Since you do have access to the OS prompt, the sysconfig utility will reflect your interface addressing and routing setup.

Similar Threads

  1. Where Can I find Checkpoint Instructors??
    By Plipman in forum Check Point ATC's (Authorized Training Centers) And Instructors
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-11-18, 08:32
  2. Remote access community configuration
    By astrobit in forum SecureClient/SecuRemote
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-11-09, 18:00
  3. Web configuration access problem on SPLAT R70
    By vbavbalist in forum Miscellaneous
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-09-15, 05:16
  4. Security and Access Configuration
    By paypa in forum Authentication
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2006-11-09, 16:34
  5. cannot find checkpoint software on website
    By Clon32 in forum Installing And Upgrading
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-07-26, 14:18

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •