PDA

View Full Version : Checkpoint 13500 Device Performance

Dsen123
2015-10-29, 02:42
Hi Guys,

I'm here for some advice, I'm new to checkpoint blade products. I have experience in Firewall and VPN blades and no exposure to any other blades. I would like to know ho 13500 device would perform with followings blades turned and how easy is to manage these blades. Currently running Splat 77.20 and would like to move to GAIA. We are looking to move all the users behind this device to access local services. (5000 Users)

Identity Awareness Blade
Web Security Blade
Advanced Networking & Clustering Blade (Currently ON and running BGP and OSPF)
Anti-Bot Software Blade
Application Control Blade
IPS Blade
Threat extraction and Threat Prevention
EMAIL Gateway Blade
QOS

Also anyone got suggestions for other vendors to perform this level of work on the next gen devices. (Such as Fortinet, Palo Alto, McAfee, Sophos, SonicWall)

All your suggestions are welcome.

Please let me know you experience with these these blades and issues you have come across.

Thanks

mcnallym
2015-10-29, 14:53
Biggest problems I have had with those Blades has been Identity Awareness. However normally has come down to bad information been given or not been updated of changes, ie not told of ALL of the Domain Controllers. Customer adds AD Servers later and doesn't tell you.

AppCtrl/URL has usually been where people moved a policy from another vendor and wandered why doesn't work as it did before, as opposed to looking at how it works and writing a policy appropriate for how Check Points AppCtrl/URL works. Good example being someone allowed URL category of Computers and Internet which covers www.webex.com then wandering why lower in the rulebase the drop webex app wasn't working when the webex app still has a url of www.webex.com so matched the URL category in a higher placed rule.