PDA

View Full Version : Best way to restore a backup



gunnahafta
2012-08-12, 19:03
This is probably an easy answer but would like other people input. I have baackup taken on a R70.1 Smart-1 applaince via a scheduled backup created in the WebUI. Pretty straight forward so far. Is it possible to restore this backup using upgrade_import? Im restoring to same appliace (or new applanice) after it has been rebuilt after a hardware failure. Same version in being used as the version whent he backup was taken. I know using the restore process would be the better way to do it however Im really more curious than anything on the other options available. Does a backup file work with upgrade_import or are they specific they must be used with the restore process?

Thanks.

bmolnar
2012-08-14, 08:51
Backups can only be restored using the 'restore' process, not upgrade_import. Do do a restore, you would have to load the same OS and patch level and complete the first time config wizard, and then you should be able to restore your backup file.

mariegalante55
2012-08-20, 03:20
Hello,

upgrade_import/upgrade_export are usefull to export/import the database. It doesn't restore the machine's state (interfaces, routing, admin users etc...).
It only restores database (rulebase, Checkpoint users/GUI etc...)

Usually, we use upgrade_tools with the management database and the backup/restore process with the gateways.

jmcgrady
2012-08-24, 02:27
So 'migrate' is only for management, like SmartCenter, and backup/restore is to restore to a gateway running the same Checkpoint version?
If so, what is now the recommended way to export your running config (interfaces, routes, certs, etc) for import to a gateway running a later version?
I realise you can do an insitu upgrade via Smartupdate or even the web gui. But that doesnt help with moving to new hardware.