PDA

View Full Version : upgrade_export problem



ops101
2006-03-31, 08:35
We are adding warm failover to our site (NGX R60 on Sun V240, solaris9). When running the upgrade_export utility it errors out with the message "Please stop all Checkpoint Process". Prior to running upgrade_export the cpstop command is run. We have confirmed no cp processes are running, we have tried running in single user, we have tried rebooting. Also, when running with -d for debug and trying to write the errors to a file we cannot get the output of upgrade_export to write to a file. We have tried both using tee and standard error redirect. Any help with this would be appreciated as well.

kva.kva
2006-03-31, 08:48
Hmmm, it's strange

I try it on SPLAT and upgrade_export works without errors and stopping any CP services.

May be problem with opened CP clients?

"/opt/CPsuite-R60/fw1/bin/upgrade_tools/upgrade_export 1.tgz


You are required to close all Check Point clients before the Export operation begins.
If the export fails, stop Check Point services and run the upgrade_export command again.
Press ENTER when ready..

Checking the existence of necessary files...
Copying files to temp dir...
Building configuration file...
Compressing the files...


The export operation finished successfully.

Note: 1.tgz contains your Security configuration, it is highly recommended to delete it after completing the process."

chillyjim
2006-03-31, 10:30
We are adding warm failover to our site (NGX R60 on Sun V240, solaris9). When running the upgrade_export utility it errors out with the message "Please stop all Checkpoint Process". Prior to running upgrade_export the cpstop command is run. We have confirmed no cp processes are running, we have tried running in single user, we have tried rebooting. Also, when running with -d for debug and trying to write the errors to a file we cannot get the output of upgrade_export to write to a file. We have tried both using tee and standard error redirect. Any help with this would be appreciated as well.

Try downloading the latestes version from usercenter. Do not run it in single user mode, a cpstop will shutdown all the checkpoint processes.

ops101
2006-04-01, 11:15
We had been using the most recent download of the upgrade_export. We thought we would try the "old" version. It worked.

Thanks for the suggestions. We only thought to try the old one when we were looking at the suggestions.