PDA

View Full Version : Restore failed



thelynx
2009-05-12, 01:58
Hi Guys,

Ik have a wierd problem.
I have an production machine HP DL380 G5, with Provider-1 R65 HFA40 & Management plugin for VSX R65 installed on secureplatform.
Every day a script uses BACKUP to create a backup in the /var/CPbackup.. dir. When i tried to restore the backup on a other HP DL380 G5 in the test environment, it fails with the following :
----------------------------------------------------------
[Expert@provider1]# restore -d -f 20090511.provider1.tgz

Initializing CRemoteBackupUtils instance.

This is Local operation (0)

FileName is : 20090511.provider1.tgz

SCP User Name is : NULL

FTP User Name is : NULL

Examining the backup package, please wait...

RESTORE operation started.

Establishing lock...

Lock established

CBackupUtils::VerifyRestore() starting

CRemoteBackupUtils::TransferFile() starting

Executing : '. /opt/CPshared/5.0/tmp/.CPprofile.sh ; cpbackup_util show_info --file /var/CPbackup/backups/20090511.provider1.tgz > /tmp/show_info.txt 2> /var/log/CPbackup_err.txt'

Failed to get the information from the backup package.

RESTORE operation failed.

Details:

CBackupUtils::LogNoData(RESTORE) starting
----------------------------------------------------------------
If i try to restore it on the same machine it has no problem.
The funny thing is before we applied the Management plugin for VSX R65,
it was no problem to restore the backup on the test environment machine.

the question is, does anyone know of a change in the backup process, do i have to backup some more files or something ?

thanks

northlandboy
2009-05-12, 02:25
Have you installed the VSX plugin on the test machine?

thelynx
2009-05-12, 02:49
yes, i re-installed the test machine clean install, than HFA40, than Managment plugin than restore.

Pascal
2009-05-12, 03:00
Hi thelynx,

hmm, when I do a restore with our Provider-1 system I always use mds_restore for that.

This command is for backup the machine:
mds_backup -b -g > /var/CPbackup/backups/mds_backup.txt

Regards
Pascal

thelynx
2009-05-12, 03:17
hi

Is that enough to completely restore a clean install ?

Pascal
2009-05-12, 03:36
I used this backup more than 10 times for a clean restore of our backup and lab Provider-1 machine, so I would say - Yes, it is :-)

thelynx
2009-05-12, 03:45
Hi Pascal

Ok im going to try that.

thanks for the info..

gtz

thelynx

thelynx
2009-05-12, 04:59
Hi,

Well that did the trick, lab server is running again with de MDS_BACKUP.

Great!

But there is still the problem that i cannot restore a backup, after the VSX management upgrade

Iam not going to investigate this problem.
Maybe ill make a checkpoint ticket but im not sure.

thanks again guys

thelynx