PDA

View Full Version : Hi all new to VSX help!!!

sebastan_bach
2009-04-22, 06:13
Hi all i am new to VSX. but i am familiar with virtual firewalls on cisco and juniper.

i am not able to figure out the concept of virtual routers and virtual switch.

IF i am having a vsx deployment with 3 virtual systems using a single physical interface as the external interface. and vlans on the internal interface for seperate customers.

here in this case the ip address of the virtual systems on the external interfaces all will be in same subnet since they are sharing the physical interface which connects to the internet router.

In this case do i need to use virtual router or virtual switch.

Can someone please tell me when to use these virtual devices and how to use them.

as per my understanding I would need to use a virtual switch to let the virtual systems to share the physical interface.

cause in cisco and juniper one does not need virtual router or switches for the same setup.

Can someone please throw some light on this. I read the documentation but found it little confusing.

Regards

Sebastan

Petroman
2009-04-22, 16:23
IF i am having a vsx deployment with 3 virtual systems using a single physical interface as the external interface. and vlans on the internal interface for seperate customers.

here in this case the ip address of the virtual systems on the external interfaces all will be in same subnet since they are sharing the physical interface which connects to the internet router.

If more than virtual system (firewall) needs a connection/interface to the same subnet, a virtual switch is the correct one.
Sounds like this is the case with your external connection.

(however, it is possible to move some of the routing from the (external) internet router and into VSX using a virtual router. Depends on where you have or not have or wish to have control of your routing, a network design issue)